Subject Guides: History: HIST 205

HIST 205 Medieval Europe

This course guide will help you locate primary and secondary sources to use in your assignments.

In addition to keywords, try these subject searches.

Christianity and other religions -- Islam

Islam-- Relations-- Christianity

Carolingians -- Conduct of life

Architecture, Carolingian

Art, Carolingian

Great Britain -- History -- Angevin period, 11154-1216

Military art and science - Europe -- History -- to 1500

Church history -- Middle Ages, 600-1500

Friars -- Early works to 1800

Monasticism and religious orders -- Early works to 1800

Scholasticism

Plague -- History -- to 1500

Black Death - Europe

Papacy -- History -- 1309-1378

Avignon Papacy

Hundred Years' War, 1339-1453

France -- History, Military -- 1328-1589

Great Britain -- History, Military -- 1066-1485

Books and Journal Articles

In addition to searching for books and journal articles in the library catalogue you may want to search specific databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.

Visual Sources

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images with descriptive information and software tools designed to enhance teaching and learning. The ARTstor digital image library documents architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture across many time periods and cultures. The digital images are derived from publishers, photographic archives, slide collections, museums, and individual scholars.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Explore more than 490,000 works from around the world and throughout history. Search the collection by using keywords and limit your search to Open Access. You can also filter by geographic location and date. From the Metropolitian Museum of Art.
Digital Bodleian
Over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford College libraries
The British Museum
Searchable database of tens of thousands of images and records of objects in the British Museum collection, spanning thousands of years and from all across the world.
Visual Sources of Medieval London
A curated guide to such visual resources as medieval paintings and manuscript images that depict medieval Londoners and their surroundings, early modern engravings of medieval buildings before the Great Fire, modern drawings that reconstruct medieval structures from archaeological evidence, and seals owned by medieval Londoners and their civic and religious institutions. The site will also include a searchable index to manuscripts known to have been illuminated in medieval London (up to 1520). From Fordham University.

Europeana
Access to millions of cultural heritage items from institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
HOLLIS
Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.
The MET Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Highlights the New York-based museum's extensive collection, ranging from 8,000 B.C. to current-century fashion.
REALonline
An image database of over 28,500 images created by the Institute for Medieval and Early Modern Material Culture (IMAREAL) of the University of Salzburg. Photos include items from 12th to 16th centuries – in museums, collections, churches and libraries.
Web Gallery of Art
A virtual museum and searchable database of European fine arts, decorative arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 52.800 reproductions.

For a list of additional primary sources, see the Medieval (500-1400) World History section on this subject guide.

Evaluate Your Sources

Evaluate the books, journal articles, and images you use in your assignments. The first source you find isn't always the best source to use in an academic assignment. For books, journal articles and websites, see Evaluating Information

For images, consider the following questions:

Where did you find the image? Who is the owner of the image?
What information is provided about the image? Is it enough to create a citation?
When was the photograph taken?
Why was the photograph taken?
Is it a good quality image?
Does the image speak directly to your topic, or does it just look nice?

Cite Your Sources

An abbreviated Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style guide is available from the Writing Centre as well as the complete Chicago Manual of Style online. The image you find might not include all the elements required for a complete citation. In that case, include as much information as you can. More information on citing images using the Chicago Style is provided by Simon Fraser University Library.

Copyright

Fair dealing will allow for the use of copyrighted works such as text, images, video, and sound recordings in multimedia assignments. For more information see Copyright for Students

History

Profile V2