Subject Guides: History: HIST 410 The Enlightenment

HIST 410 The Enlightenment

Here are some suggested terms that can be used as a keyword or in some cases as a subject* search in the library catalogue.

Enlightenment civil society

England (or the name of another country, i.e. Scotland) -- Intellectual life -- 18th century *

Enlightenment*

Enlightenment philosophy

Enlightenment music

Voltaire, 1694-1778*

Diderot, Denis, 1713-1784*

Rousseau, Jean-Jacques, 1712-1778*

Historiography (Try historiography with your keywords, for example enlightenment historiography)

Primary Sources

Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ECCO (18th Century Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
Contains noteworthy English- and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with works from the Americas. Covers the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
1701 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
17th/18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts, explanations, and points of views. It includes pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from the period. Useful in the study of the following areas: political history, economic and business history, literary history, the history of trades and advertising, the history of theatre, the history of individuals, and the history of the press.
Coverage and Currency: 1603 to early 1800s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
Contains content from the 16th- and 17th-century British State Papers. Covers the following topics early modern British and European history: diplomacy, politics, society, culture, law, religion, kingship and queenship, exploration, travel and trade, and the early empire. Also covers early modern literature, Renaissance and Reformation studies, and Tudor and Stuart studies.
Coverage and Currency: 16th to 17th century
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

The Encyclopedia of Diderot and d' Alembert
Translations of articles from the Encyclopédie edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century. From University of Michigan Library.
Internet History Sourcebook: The Enlightenment
Guide to primary sources. From Fordham University.
Super Enlightenment
The Super-Enlightenment database contains thirty-six texts, written in French between 1716 and 1835. Some of these, such as Antoine Court de Gébelin's nine-volume Monde primitif, were widely read in their time; others, such as the abbé Larudan's Les francs-maçons écrasés, are more emblematic of the shadowy demi-monde of eighteenth-century intellectual intrigue. Taken as a corpus, they offer a fair representation of the disparate and unorthodox interests of the age: Mesmer's memoir on animal magnetism, Bailly's letters on the myth of Atlantis, Morelly's blueprint for a natural utopia, or Pernety's alchemical interpretation of Egyptian mythology all shed light on obscured corners of philosophical inquiry during the Enlightenment.

British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900 This link opens in a new window
Presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts — including letters, diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, essays, journals, private correspondence, handwritten notes, drawings and more — from the Restoration through the Victorian eras. Covers a variety of British authors including William Blake, Charlotte Brontë, Fanny Burney, Robert Burns, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1660 - 1990
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
Includes all issues of the Illustrated London News. Covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, sciences and medicine, social history, sport, transportation, and travel.
Coverage and Currency: 1842 - 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source documents from British history, spanning the years 500-1914, plus American history to 1776. Sources include government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, and diaries. Covers political and constitutional topics and social, economic, religious, and cultural history.
Coverage and Currency 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Journals Articles

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains journals and books on topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Coverage and Currency: 1911 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Theological Library Association, ALTA contains citations to articles, essays, and book reviews covering all fields of religion.
Coverage and Currency: Indexing 1949 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Subjects includes aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political and social philosophy, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1893 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

eBook Collections

Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Theses

Theses are often great sources for extensive bibliographies on a topic.

EThOS - Electronic Theses Online System This link opens in a new window
Contains doctoral theses from the United Kingdom. Partial open access.
Coverage and Currency 2009 to present
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.
Theses Canada portal This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian theses and dissertations, including some full text and citations for theses published from 1800s to present.
Coverage and Currency: 1800s to present
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.

Reference Managers

Web-based software is available to manager your citations. A Reference Manager Comparison allows you to compare the various types of products.

Interlibrary Loan

If materials required by students or staff for university-related work are not available in NEOS, the MacEwan Interlibrary Loans (ILL) service can request them from other libraries.

History

Profile V2