Subject Guides: History: HIST 490

HIST 490 Histories of Confinement

This course guide will help you locate sources for your essays on the histories of confinements: prisons, camps and penal colonies.

Try these keywords in the library catalogue and other databases. To narrow your search include additional terms such as the name of a person, place or event.

correctional institutions	detention facilities	female offenders
female prisoners	imprisonment	incarceration
institutionalized persons	internment camps	penal colonies
political prisoners	prison conditions	prison culture
prison literature	prison narratives	prison poetry
prisoners' writing	prisoners	prisoners education
transgender prisoners	women prisoners

Primary Sources

To locate primary sources in the library catalogue, add the keyword sources, documents, diaries, personal narratives or correspondence to other relevant search terms.

You can find primary documents on the Web using similar keywords like those used to locate sources in the library catalogue and keywords such as eyewitness, first-hand accounts, oral history, autobiography, digital exhibition, digital collection, and primary sources.

The digital libraries and archives listed at the bottom of this course guide may include both secondary and primary sources. The Internet Archive for example can be searched using titles, keywords and subjects. For example,

subject: "Prisoners' writings"

subject: "Prisoners' writings, American"

The library also subscribes to a number of digitized thematic collections of primary sources.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Contains primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. The content spans the forms of newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources. These sources discuss various LGBTQ issues such as the gay rights movement, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. It includes works on subjects such as LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, gender studies, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1940s - 2000s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture: 1790-1920 This link opens in a new window
Contains trial transcripts, police and forensic reports, detective novels, newspaper accounts, true crime literature, and related ephemera about or from the 19th century.
Coverage and Currency: 1790 - 1920
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window
Includes pages from regular issues of the Daily Mail newspaper (1896 to 2004), plus the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition (1923 to 1931), viewable in full digital facsimile form. Major subject areas covered by this British newspaper archive include the First World War, women and gender, home and lifestyles, popular politics, and crime. It also contains advertising.
Coverage and Currency: 1896 - 2004
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ECCO (18th Century Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
Contains noteworthy English- and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with works from the Americas. Covers the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
1701 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
A research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Coverage and Currency: 1900 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Independent Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes every published issue of The Independent, a British daily national newspaper. Covers all topics, but especially the free market, social issues, and culture.
Coverage and Currency: 1986 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MacLean's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains the archive of the Canadian news and general interest magazine MacLean's. Provides a perspective on national and international affairs, and opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education, and work. Includes indexing for articles and cover pages, with fully searchable advertisements.
Coverage and Currency: 1905 - 2015
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Gale Primary Resources This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the digital collections of primary source documents from Gale. Covers all topics, but especially business, British studies, colonial relations, history, journalism, literature, newspapers, political science, and the natural sciences.
Coverage and Currency 1115 - 2022
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection features U.S. newspapers from the 1800s, from major publications to small-press ones by Indigenous, African-American, women's rights, and labour groups. Subjects covered include history, political science, gender studies, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1800s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of historical New England and the United States.
Coverage and Currency: 1872 - 1987
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Calgary Herald (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Contains the complete archive of the Calgary Herald newspaper.
Coverage and Currency: 1883 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, history, architecture, art, society, and events of historical Chicago and the American Midwest.
Coverage and Currency: 1849 - 1998
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Edmonton Journal (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides access to the archive of the Edmonton Journal newspaper for the years 1903 to 2010. It includes articles, advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and editorial cartoons.
Coverage and Currency: 1903 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Guardian and The Observer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and opinions about significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Coverage and Currency: The Guardian: 1821 - 2003, The Observer: 1791- 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning New York City, the United States, and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1851 - 2015
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1877 - 2002
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Journal Articles

America History and Life This link opens in a new window Contains information on American and Canadian culture and history, from prehistory to the present. Subject areas include history, politics and government, philosophy, anthropology, sport and leisure, and science and medicine.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, correction, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
Coverage and Currency: 1910 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Consists of scholarship and literature on leftist political movements, including the labour movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law and globalization.
Coverage and Currency: 1901 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology and related fields, including anthropology, criminology, economic development, social work, politics, religion, and more. Topics include abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic and racial studies, marriage and family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1895 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

eBook Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to multiple collections of ebooks on a variety of topics, including the arts, business, education, health, history, literature, language, philosophy, social science, science, and technology.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Digital Libraries & Archives

Open Library
An editable, open library catalog. Browse and borrow millions of books. A project of the Internet Archive.
Digital Public Library of America
Provides free access to digital holdings in numerous American libraries, museums and archives.
Internet Archive
Library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress
Digital collections from the national library in the United States.
Europeana
Access to numerous works in European archives, libraries and museums.

History

Profile V2