Subject Guides: History: HIST 410 Global Paris

HIST 410 Global Paris

This course guide will help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research paper on a topic related to the theme of global Paris.

The following terms are subject headings related to many of the topics in this course. Trying using Paris or France with one of these additional search terms. It may also be useful to include the century or date range. For example, paris resistance world war 1939-1945

18th century	19th century	20th century
anarchism	anarchists	antisemitism
civil-military relations	counterculture	counterrevolutionaries
intellectuals	intellectual life	labor movement
political activity	popular fronts	radicalism
revolution 1789-1799	strikes and lockouts	social aspects
social change	social conflict	social control
working class	world war, 1914-1918	world war, 1939-1945

Journal Articles

You can use the library catalogue to locate journal articles. However, there is value in searching discipline specific databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

eBook Collections

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Primary Sources

To locate primary sources in the library catalogue, add the keyword sources, documents, diaries, personal narratives or correspondence to other relevant search terms.

The library also subscribes to a number of digitized thematic collections of primary sources.

ECCO (18th Century Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
Contains noteworthy English- and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with works from the Americas. Covers the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
1701 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books on colonial history, politics, culture, and society.
Coverage and Currency 1500 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.
Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Smithsonian Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source documents from the museums, archives, and collections of the Smithsonian Institution. Includes documents, maps, historical objects, and other materials. Note that this digital collection is geared primarily toward secondary students in the United States.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images with descriptive information and software tools designed to enhance teaching and learning. The ARTstor digital image library documents architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture across many time periods and cultures. The digital images are derived from publishers, photographic archives, slide collections, museums, and individual scholars.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Many archives, libraries and museums have digitized parts of their collections. You can find primary documents on the web using a search engine like Google. Add the following terms to your keywords: "primary documents" "primary sources" "digital collection" or exhibition.

Gallica
Gallica is a free digital library of some 70,000 French texts and 80,000 images created by the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, chosen from its own and other French collections. Contains literature, history, science, philosophy, law, economic and political science materials.
History of Paris
The History of Paris selection brings together a variety of selected documents that will allow you to approach the City of Light in all its facets, following its evolution over time, from the 17th century to the present day. From BNF/Gallica.
Local and regional press
Selection of local and regional press titles divided between their regions and publishing locations. From BNF/Gallica.
Principal Daily French Newspapers
Daily press titles published on French territory (including the former colonies), from the end of the 18th century, until the first years after the Second World War. From BNF/Gallica.
Press and Magazines
Selection of press and magazine titles organized by type of publication (daily, weekly, magazine), by theme, by geographic area or by historical period. From BNF/Gallica.
Paris: Capital of the 19th Century
The multi-disciplinary web site is designed to give students and faculty a visual tool to complement their study of history, art and literature of Paris in the 19th century. From Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
A collection of images, documents, maps, songs, a timeline, glossary and topical essays. From Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and American Social History Project (City University of New York).
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

History

Profile V2

HIST 410 Global Paris

Journal Articles

eBook Collections

Primary Sources