Subject Guides: History: HIST 410 Napoleon and His Empire

HIST 410 Napoleon and His Empire

This course guide will help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research paper on topics related to Napoleon and the Napoleonic era.

The following subject headings will allow you to narrow your search. Choose Subject from the drop-down menu in the library search box or use Advanced Search.

France History Revolution 1789-1799 (subtopics include: economic aspects, causes, influence, refugees, sources, historiography, religious aspects, personal narratives)
Napoleon I, Emperor of the French, 1769-1821 (subtopics include: military leadership, portraits, biography, relations with Europeans)
Napoleonic Conquest, 1808-1813
Napoleonic Wars 1800-1815 (subtopics include: treaties, diplomatic history, campaigns Belgium Waterloo, France, Germany)

Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Primary Sources

Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.
Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ECCO (18th Century Collections Online) This link opens in a new window Contains noteworthy English- and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with works from the Americas. Covers the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
1701 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Includes manuscripts, monographs, periodicals, and photographs relating to the nineteenth century. Materials are in the following languages: English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish. Subject areas include history, politics, law, religion, and social movements.
Coverage and Currency: 1801 - 1900
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window Consists of daily and weekly publications originating in England, Scotland, and Ireland, of national or regional scope, from the Victorian era. Sources in this collection include bibliographic headnotes, essays, illustrations, and examples of early photography offering overviews and some first-hand accounts of events.
Coverage and Currency: 1700 - 2000
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window Includes all issues of the Illustrated London News. Covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, sciences and medicine, social history, sport, transportation, and travel.
Coverage and Currency: 1842 - 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window Provides access to digital images with descriptive information and software tools designed to enhance teaching and learning. The ARTstor digital image library documents architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture across many time periods and cultures. The digital images are derived from publishers, photographic archives, slide collections, museums, and individual scholars.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Digital Libraries

Theses

Interlibrary Loan

If the print book you need is not available at the John L. Haar library place a hold on it to bring the book to our campus. If you can’t find the book or journal article you are looking in the library catalogue use Interlibrary loan.

Citing & Reference Managers

Reference managers are applications that help you manage references and generate citations and bibliographies. Many free reference managers exist, each with different features and strengths.

History

Profile V2