Contains letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of encounters among peoples living in what is now Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean. Includes personal accounts from Indigenous peoples, male and female traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, and officials.
Coverage and Currency 1543 - 1850 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Includes primary source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books on colonial history, politics, culture, and society.
Coverage and Currency 1500 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains primary source documents from British history, spanning the years 500-1914, plus American history to 1776. Sources include government and cabinet proceedings, military dispatches, newspaper articles, pamphlets, personal and official letters, and diaries. Covers political and constitutional topics and social, economic, religious, and cultural history.
Coverage and Currency 1953 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Consists of primary source documents written from 1650 to 1920. Includes the colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia. Documents contain information on the lives of Indigenous peoples and settlers in these areas.
Coverage and Currency 1650 - 1920 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This regional studies archive covers Latin American culture and society, and includes access to materials like periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and data.
Coverage and Currency 15th century to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.
Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Digital library of historical primary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland in the medieval and early modern periods to the late 18th century.
Coverage and Currency: 1100 - 1800 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Primary resources are thematically organized with notes and discussion questions. See the section on Indians' accounts and Spanish Conquest. From the National Endowments for the Humanities.
In 1519 Hernan Cortés sailed from Cuba, landed in Mexico and made his way to the Aztec capital. Miguel LeonPortilla, a Mexican anthropologist, gathered accounts by the Aztecs, some of which were written shortly after the conquest. From Fordham University.
Primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. From the Institute of Historical Research, University of London.
Translated and curated primary sources from an episode in the history of Saint-Domingue. Project funders University of Maryland and New Jersey Council for the Humanities.
CORSAIR is a single database providing unified access to over 330,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects. From the Morgan Library & Museum.
A collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Published and supported by the University of Maryland Libraries.
is an open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean. From Northeastern University.
Materials from the voyages of exploration of Christopher Columbus (1451–1506), Hernán Cortés (1485–1547), and Francisco Pizarro (ca. 1475–1541) and material about the natives of the Americas they encountered. From the Library of Congress.
These five letters by the Spanish conqueror, Fernando Cortes, were written to the Emperor Charles V of Spain between 1519 and 1526. Translated into English, they describe the Spanish invasion of Mexico. From the Internet Archive.
Primary sources related to crime, poverty and social policy in London between 1690 and 1800. Funded by the Economic & Social Research Council, and implemented by the Digital Humanities Institute at the University of Sheffield.
Resources for studying Mesoamerican writing, pre-Columbian culture, and early Colonial Mexican history. The digital collection includes images of manuscripts painted in the native pictorial tradition, dating from 1500 to 1700. The texts cover topics such as Aztec history, land grants, property records, census data, and Mixtec royal genealogies. From the Latin American Library at Tulane University
The proceedings of the Old Bailey, London's Central Criminal Court, 1674-1913. This website is published by the Digital Humanities Institute at the University of Sheffield
