Subject Guides: History: HIST 442 Technology and Globalization

HIST 442 Technology and Globalization: Transportation, Communication, Industrialization

This course guide will help you find sources for your assignments in nineteenth-century innovations in transportation and communications.

Combine keywords with 19th century, choose a country to limit the resources. For example, public transportation 19th century or tourism 19th century Canada or travel diaries 19th century Italy.

travel diaries	travel literature
travel narratives	travelers writings/travel writings
tourism	ocean travel
infrastructure	public transportation
railway	canals or waterways
steamship	postal service

Three Centuries of Travel Writing by Muslim Women by Siobhan Lambert-Hurley and other editors.
Editors translate, annotate, and provide historical and cultural context for the 17th- to 20th-century writings of Muslim women travelers.
The Sherwill Journals, 1840-1843: Voyages and Encounters in the Eastern Cape of Southern Africa by June Harvey (Editor)
Personal travel journals, with illustrations of the Sherwill brothers between 1840-1843. One brother sets out to explore the Eastern Cape the other describes his voyage home to England from Calcutta on a sailing ship.
From Beacon Hill to the Crystal Palace: the 1851 Travel Diary of a Working-Class Woman by Lorenza Stevens Berbineau; Karen L. Kilcup (Editors)
Provides readers with a unique perspective of a domestic servant in the wealthy Lowell family in Boston.
Gertrude Bell : the Arabian Diaries, 1913-1914 by Rosemary O'Brien (Editor)
Travels and Identities: Elizabeth and Adam Shortt in Europe, 1911 by Peter E. Paul Dembski (Editor)
Adam Shortt was a Canadian professor and public servant. His wife was a medical student and feminist. This book chronicles their Atlantic crossing and extended visit to England in 1911, as well as trips to Switzerland, Austria, Germany, and the Netherlands.

Library Search

Travel Diaries, Letters and Literature

American Notes: Travels in America, 1750 to 1920
Published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920. From the Library of Congress.
American Travelers in Italy
The Italian Travel Literature collection makes a number of titles available in full-text-searchable format for students, faculty, and others interested in Italian Studies. From Brigham Young University Library Digital Collections .
Latin American Travelogues
A digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries. Click on Browse to see a selection of texts in the Internet Archive. A project of the Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
TIMEA – Travelers in the Middle East Archive
Online access to texts, maps, and images documenting travel to the Middle East (primarily Egypt) between the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. These materials range from travel guides, travel narratives, and museum catalogs to stereocards, advertisements and postcards. From Rice University Fondren Library Woodson Research Center Special Collections and Archives.
Women’s Travel Diaries
Diaries written by British and American women who documented their travels to places around the globe, including India, the West Indies, countries in Europe, Africa, and the Middle East, as well as around the United States. From Duke University Libraries.

Transportation

Full Steam Ahead: The Steam Engine and Transportation in the Nineteenth Century
A small selection of primary sources on steam engines from the Digital Public Library of America.
Great Lakes Passenger Steamship Pamphlets
The Great Lakes Passenger Steamship Pamphlets Collection consists of 78 brochures and pamphlets that promoted recreational cruises, primarily those on the Great Lakes. Materials in the collection date from 1890 – 1972. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Two Hundred Years on the Erie Canal
A digital exhibition about the Erie Canal. Hosted by the Digital Public Library of America.
The Waterways Archive
Images and other archival sources on Britain's' waterways. From the Canal & River Trust.
Panama Canal
A small selection of primary sources on the Panama Canal. From the Digital Public Library of America.
Late 19th-Early 20th Century Bicycle and Bicycle Parts Catalogs
This collection contains illustrated early U.S. bicycle and bicycle parts manufacturers’ catalogs covering the period from 1890 through 1932, with the great majority published between 1890 and 1902. From Northwestern University Libraries Digital Collections.
Ira Silverman Railroad Menu Collection
Consists of menus and pamphlets from United States and Canadian railroads. From Northwestern Libraries Digital Collections.
Union Pacific Railway
Includes a timeline, maps and images in the Union Pacific Museum archives.
Railroad Maps, 1828 to 1900
A collection of American regional, state and county maps. From the Library of Congress Digital Collections.
Aviation
A digital exhibition about aviation from the Digital Public Library of America.
Cleared for Takeoff: Explore Commercial Aviation
Discover documents, photographs, advertisements, objects, reports, timetables, magazines, brochures, and more about the history of commercial aviation. Features Pan American World Airways, Inc. Hosted by the Digital Public Library of America.
European Transportation Maps of the 19th Century
A selection of maps showing European transportation facilities during the 19th century. From the University of Chicago Library's map collection.
World's Transportation Commission
Images by American photographer William Henry Jackson. Includes various types of transportation: railroads, elephants, camels, horses, sleds and sleighs, sedan chairs and rickshaws. From the Library of Congress.

Communications

Canadian Post Office Publications, 1759-1900
Includes digitized pages from three main types of documents: circulars (1828-1900), Canada Official Postal Guides (1863-1900) and publications (1759-1872). From Library and Archives Canada.
Samual F.B. Morse Papers at the Library of Congress, 1793-1919
Includes digitized correspondence, diaries, maps, drawings and other materials from Samuel F. B. Morse, inventor of the telegraph. From the Library of Congress.
Invention of the Telephone
A small selection of primary sources on the invention of the telephone. From the Digital Public Library of America.
Radio History Documents
Documents relating to the earliest days of radio broadcasting, starting from from the days of radiotelegraphy in the early 1900s. From the Federal Communications Commission, USA.
Golden Age of Radio in the US
Includes images and text from the development of the radio to to the rise of television. A digital exhibition hosted by the Digital Public Library of America.

Migration

Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
Prairie Immigration Experience
A collection of nearly 15,000 digitized archival documents, including diaries, correspondence, photographs, and audio and video recordings from the holdings of the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections and the University of Saskatchewan Archives.
Digitizing Immigrant Letters
Letters from the Immigration History Research Center Archives and other collections (private individuals, partner institutions) that were written between 1850 and 1970 both by immigrants (the so-called “America letters”) and to immigrants (“homeland letters”).

Primary Source Collections

The databases below are subscription databases. Content is only available to MacEwan University faculty, staff and students.

19th Century UK Periodicals
This collection consists of periodicals from Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure/Sport and Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary, and Colonia. Articles cover British life in the Victorian age with an emphasis on women's writing, popular sports and hobbies, and the role Britain played as an imperial power in the 19th century. Titles include: The Northern Star, The Satirist, British Women's Temperance Journal, and Baily's Monthly Magazine of Sport. Part II contains materials from the National Library of Scotland, India, Canada, and more.

Coverage and Currency: 1800s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Includes manuscripts, monographs, periodicals, and photographs relating to the nineteenth century. Materials are in the following languages: English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, and Spanish. Subject areas include history, politics, law, religion, and social movements.

Coverage and Currency: 1801 - 1900
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Empire Online
Includes primary source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books on colonial history, politics, culture, and society.

Coverage and Currency 1500 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Migration to New Worlds
Focuses on the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe, and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the 19th and 20th centuries. Late 18th century documents also provide context on the early stages of migration. Canadian resources from the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21, the Glenbow Museum, and Libraries and Archives Canada are included.

Coverage and Currency: 1700s - 1900s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Making of the Modern World
Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.

Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Frontier Life:Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Consists of primary source documents written from 1650 to 1920. Includes the colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia. Documents contain information on the lives of Indigenous peoples and settlers in these areas.

Coverage and Currency 1650 - 1920
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadiana
Documents Canadian history from European contact to the first half of the 20th century.Includes monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is primarily composed of Canadian materials published before 1921.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Newspaper and Magazine Archives

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
This collection features U.S. newspapers from the 1800s, from major publications to small-press ones by Indigenous, African-American, women's rights, and labour groups. Subjects covered include history, political science, gender studies, and sociology.

Coverage and Currency: 1800s
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of historical New England and the United States.

Coverage and Currency: 1872 - 1987
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Calgary Herald (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Contains the complete archive of the Calgary Herald newspaper.

Coverage and Currency: 1883 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, history, architecture, art, society, and events of historical Chicago and the American Midwest.

Coverage and Currency: 1849 - 1998
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004
Includes pages from regular issues of the Daily Mail newspaper (1896 to 2004), plus the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition (1923 to 1931), viewable in full digital facsimile form. Major subject areas covered by this British newspaper archive include the First World War, women and gender, home and lifestyles, popular politics, and crime. It also contains advertising.

Coverage and Currency: 1896 - 2004
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Economist Historical Archive
Contains the complete weekly issues of The Economist from 1843-2020. Includes advertising, full-color images, and multiple search indexes, along with the ability to browse through each issue. Users can search for cartoons, charts and graphs, drawings, and photographs, and supplements are also included. Covers political, economic, business, scientific, technological and cultural topics.

Coverage and Currency 1843 - 2014
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Edmonton Journal (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Provides access to the archive of the Edmonton Journal newspaper for the years 1903 to 2010. It includes articles, advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and editorial cartoons.

Coverage and Currency: 1903 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Financial Times Historical Archives: 1888-2010
Contains the historical daily issues of the London edition of The Financial Times newspaper. Includes coverage of international business and finance issues, including industry, energy, and politics. Later issues include topics such as management, personal finance, and the arts.

Coverage and Currency 1888 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.

Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Guardian and The Observer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and opinions about significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.

Coverage and Currency: The Guardian: 1821 - 2003, The Observer: 1791- 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842-2003
Includes all issues of the Illustrated London News. Covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, sciences and medicine, social history, sport, transportation, and travel.

Coverage and Currency: 1842 - 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MacLean's Magazine Archive
Contains the archive of the Canadian news and general interest magazine MacLean's. Provides a perspective on national and international affairs, and opinion and analysis on politics, economy and business, science and technology, society, arts and culture, education, and work. Includes indexing for articles and cover pages, with fully searchable advertisements.

Coverage and Currency: 1905 - 2015
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Montreal Gazette (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Contains the complete archive of the Montreal Gazette from 1785 to 2010.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers), 1851-2020
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning New York City, the United States, and the world.

Coverage and Currency: 1851 - 2020
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Sunday Times Historical Archive
Comprised of digital reproductions of Britain’s Sunday Times newspaper from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
The Telegraph Historical Archive
Contains the digital archive of the newspaper, The Telegraph, from the United Kingdom.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.

Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world, with a business focus.

Coverage and Currency: 1889 - 2001
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world.

Coverage and Currency: 1877 - 2002
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

History

Profile V2