Click on the Newspapers tab at the top to view the Western Canadian historical newspaper collection (1870 to 2018). From the University of Alberta and the Internet Archive.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. From National Endowment for the Humanities and The Library of Congress.
Gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), this collection covers more than two hundred years of accounts, explanations, and points of views. It includes pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks, and newspapers from the period. Useful in the study of the following areas: political history, economic and business history, literary history, the history of trades and advertising, the history of theatre, the history of individuals, and the history of the press.
Coverage and Currency: 1603 to early 1800s Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This collection features U.S. newspapers from the 1800s, from major publications to small-press ones by Indigenous, African-American, women's rights, and labour groups. Subjects covered include history, political science, gender studies, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1800s Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of historical New England and the United States.
Coverage and Currency: 1872 - 1987 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, history, architecture, art, society, and events of historical Chicago and the American Midwest.
Coverage and Currency: 1849 - 1998 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides coverage of international news and events. Topics include the arts, business, communications, culture, economics, government, history, journalism, political science, science and technology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1908 - 2006 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Includes pages from regular issues of the Daily Mail newspaper (1896 to 2004), plus the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition (1923 to 1931), viewable in full digital facsimile form. Major subject areas covered by this British newspaper archive include the First World War, women and gender, home and lifestyles, popular politics, and crime. It also contains advertising.
Coverage and Currency: 1896 - 2004 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and opinions about significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Coverage and Currency: The Guardian: 1821 - 2003, The Observer: 1791- 2003 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Includes all issues of the Illustrated London News. Covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, sciences and medicine, social history, sport, transportation, and travel.
Coverage and Currency: 1842 - 2003 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning New York City, the United States, and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1851 - 2020 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world, with a business focus.
Coverage and Currency: 1889 - 2001 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1877 - 2002 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Google Newspaper Archives
Several Canadian newspapers such as the Montreal Gazette, the Vancouver Sun and the Ottawa Citizen have been digitized and are available in Google News Archive
