If you require primary sources for a American, Canadian or world history class or assignment this collection of primary source databases is worth checking out! Click on the Resources link to search individual collections.
Coverage and Currency: 1500 - 2003 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of encounters among peoples living in what is now Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean. Includes personal accounts from Indigenous peoples, male and female traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, and officials.
Coverage and Currency 1543 - 1850 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Consists of primary source documents written from 1650 to 1920. Includes the colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia. Documents contain information on the lives of Indigenous peoples and settlers in these areas.
Coverage and Currency 1650 - 1920 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains primary source archival documents sourced from Canadian and American institutions, and from various Indigenous organizations. The collection also features Indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Topics of interest include trade and communication, Arctic exploration and tribes, the Iroquois Confederation, Canadian Catholic Indian missions, establishment of the Canadian Indian and Aboriginal Department, Canadian treaty policy, missionary schools, dances and festivals, Indigenous languages and linguistics, water and fishing rights, and civil rights.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Comprised of electronic resources with a primary focus on the Indigenous peoples living in Canada, with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. The resources include full text articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The database contains both freely available materials as well as licensed resources.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.
Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Correspondence between the British Colonial Office and the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia from 1846-1871. From University of Victoria.
Digitized records include post journals, incoming and outgoing correspondence and accounts kept at individual posts. They also include records kept at districts and departments overseeing the post activity. These pre-1870 records include: lists of servants, accounts, reports, engagement registers, abstracts of servants’ accounts and minutes of council. From the Archives of Manitoba.
The Original French, Latin, and Italian Texts, with English Translations and Notes. Edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites. List of the 73 volumes in numerical order in the Internet Archive. Provided by Research Laboratories of Archaeology.
Discover what drew the French to North America and follow missionaries, cartographers, soldiers, coureurs des bois and Aboriginal allies as they explore and expand New France., From the Canadian Museum of History.
Essays and selected documents about the Red and Black Series (the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs administrative records of Aboriginal people from 1872 to the 1950s), Treaties, Surrenders and Agreements, and Aboriginal Soldiers in the First World War. From Library and Archives Canada.
Record of the foreign policy and foreign relations of the Government of Canada, contains major foreign policy decisions and their underlying rationale (1946 to 1963, special edition on the Arctic - 1874-1949). Note: 1909-1945 are part of the reference collection in the library - call number FC242 .C348
