Subject Guides: History: HIST 343

HIST 343 Modern History of Genocide

Here are some suggested keywords or search terms for locating secondary sources

Genocide case studies
Genocide political aspects
Genocide (and a specific region or group)
“war crimes” trial
Massacres (and a specific region or group)
Forced migration (and a specific region or group)
Ethnic cleansing
Forced assimilation
Settler colonialism (and a specific region)

Primary Sources

Conduct a keyword search to locate primary source materials in the library catalogue and add sources, documents, diaries, or personal narratives or correspondence to other relevant search terms. For example, holocaust and diaries and then limit Source Type to Books.

You can find primary documents on the Web using similar keywords like those used to locate sources in the library catalogue and keywords such as eyewitness, first-hand accounts, oral history, autobiography, digital exhibition, digital collection, and primary sources.

Newspaper Archives

Globe and Mail (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains historical, digitized and full-image content, minus the last three years, from the Globe and Mail newspaper. Includes news stories, photographs, maps, advertisements, classified ads, political cartoons, and birth and death notices.
Coverage and Currency: 1844 up to the most recent three years
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Guardian and The Observer (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers with first-hand accounts and opinions about significant political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Coverage and Currency: The Guardian: 1821 - 2003, The Observer: 1791- 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Montreal Gazette (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete archive of the Montreal Gazette from 1785 to 2010.
New York Times with Index (ProQuest Historical Newspapers), 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning New York City, the United States, and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1851 - 2020
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Provides first-hand accounts of the politics, society, and events on matters concerning the United States and the world.
Coverage and Currency: 1877 - 2002
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Additional Sources

Holocaust and Genocide Studies LibGuide - Stony Brook Universities Library
Yale Genocide Studies Program - Case Studies

Residential Schools

Library Archives Canada residential schools (limit to date and available online)
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
Indian Residential School History & Dialogue Centre
Peel’s Prairie Provinces
Up and Down the Coast
Catholic Archdiocese of Grouard-McLennan: Photo galleries
Residential Schools (films produced by the National Film Board of Canada)

Nama-Herero

Words Cannot be Found: German Colonial Rule in Namibia (an annotated reprint of the 1918 Blue Book.

Holodomor

Montreal Institute for Genocide and Human Rights Studies Ukrainian famine memoirs
Holodomor Research and Education Consortium Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies University of Alberta (Resources)
Ukrainian Canadian Congress Holodomor Survivors Tell Their Stories

Armenian

Armenian Deportees: 1915-1916 (photographs) from the Armenian National Institute
Genocide Project: Oral and Visual Documentation of Survivors of the Armenian Genocide

Rwanda

Cambodia

Yale University Genocide Studies Program Cambodian Genocide Databases

Can’t find the source in the MacEwan University Library catalogue?

Try Interlibrary loan
Title + Internet Archive (older published sources)

History

Profile V2

HIST 343 Modern History of Genocide

Primary Sources

Newspaper Archives

Additional Sources

Can’t find the source in the MacEwan University Library catalogue?