Subject Guides: History: HIST 410 The French and Haitian Revolution

HIST 410 The French and Haitian Revolutions

This course guide will help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research paper on a topic related to the French and Haitian Revolutions.

Search Strategy

Combine geographic names, dates, and the term revolution with additional search terms such as: economic aspects, causes, influences, refugees, historiography, religious aspects, personal narratives, sources or correspondence.

Place names change over time; remember to search for various geographic names. For example,

Haiti or Hayti

"Saint Domingue" or "St. Domingue"

Journal Articles

Some of these journal article databases, such as JSTOR, also provide access to primary sources.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
This regional studies archive covers Latin American culture and society, and includes access to materials like periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and data.
Coverage and Currency 15th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Age of Revolutions
An open-access, peer-reviewed journal. Includes short essays, featured books and bibliographies.

eBook Collections

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Specific volumes within the Cambridge Histories Online that may interest you:

Cambridge History of Eighteenth Century Political Thought

New Cambridge Modern History

Volume 8 The American and French Revolutions 1763-93
Volume 9 War and Peach in an Age of Upheaval 1793-1830

Cambridge History of French Thought

Cambridge World History of Slavery (volume 3, 1420-1804)

Primary Sources

Searching by keyword may not be effective in databases that provide access to primary sources. Familiarize yourself with the theme of the database and browse the collection or use the advanced search.

ECCO (18th Century Collections Online) This link opens in a new window
Contains noteworthy English- and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with works from the Americas. Covers the American Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Industrial Revolution.
1701 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Includes primary source material such as maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books on colonial history, politics, culture, and society.
Coverage and Currency 1500 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Includes rare monographs, serials, political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera from Parts I and II of this resource. Includes information on world trade, the Industrial Revolution, and the development of modern capitalism. Approximately 30% of the content is in non-English languages. Covers the following subject areas: political science, economics, women's studies, and legal and religious history, with special collections on transportation, banking, finance, and manufacturing.
Coverage and Currency: 1450 - 1914
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains information on slavery, divided into four parts: Part I - Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II - The Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III - Institution of Slavery, and Part IV - Age of Emancipation. The archive covers a wide spectrum of interests related to the history of slavery, such as legal issues, the Caribbea, children and women under slavery, modes of resistance, and more, from 1490-1896.
Coverage and Currency: 1490 - 1896
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
Contains the digitized, full-image version of the complete content of The Times newspaper since its inception in 1785. Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, and birth and death notice that ever appeared in The Times.
Coverage and Currency: 1785 - 2012
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Digital Libraries, Exhibitions & Archives

Caribbean Views
Over 1,200 images, maps and texts from the 18th and 19th centuries reveal contrasting experiences of life in the former British colonies. From the British Library.
A Colony In Crisis: The Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage Of 1789
Translated and curated primary sources from an episode in the history of Saint-Domingue. From the University of Maryland.
French Revolution Digital Archive
The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
French Revolution Images
Iconography from the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
John Carter Brown Library - Haiti Collection
The John Carter Brown Library holds one of the world's great collections relating to Haiti. The rare books, maps and newspapers tell the story of the founding of the French colony of Saint Domingue, its demise through the Haitian Revolution and the founding of Haiti in its place. Note, many of the sources are in French.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
This site includes images, textual documents, songs, maps, a timeline, and a glossary as well as topical essays.
Revolution
Browse the New York Public Library’s digital collections on revolution.
Revolution (1789-1799)
GALLICA, the French National Biblotheque provides access to a large image database. One of the collections is entitled Revolution (1789-1799).
Saint-Domingue Lost: Imperial French Narratives Of The Haitian Revolution
Six excerpts from primary source texts about various aspects of the Haitian Revolution written by French writers. The excerpt subjects vary widely, each revealing a different perspective of one of the more under-recognized world events. All texts are preceded by an introduction that provides context and background information to aid readers in their discovery of these important texts and contribute to a better understanding of the Haitian Revolution itself. A digital humanities project involving students enrolled in FREN 3621: Enlightenment and Revolution at Vanderbilt University.
Slavery and the Haitian Revolution
Part of the Liberty, Equality and Fraternity project, this page provides images and texts on slavery and the Haitian Revolution.
Women in the Haitian Revolution
A bibliography of print sources compiled by the Library of Congress.
Women of the French Revolution: A Resource Guide
This guide is a starting point for research on women in the French Revolution of 1789. It includes English and French-language bibliographies, primary sources, digital resources, images, and biographical information on key figures in the Revolution. From the Library of Congress.
Translating the French Revolution
The translation of selected French Revolution pamphlets from the Newberry collection was undertaken in an advanced French translation course taught at DePaul University in Fall 2017

History

Profile V2

HIST 410 The French and Haitian Revolutions

Journal Articles

eBook Collections

Primary Sources

Digital Libraries, Exhibitions & Archives