Subject Guides: History: HIST 204

HIST 204 Judaism, Christianity, Islam

This course guide will help you locate materials for your Digital Humanities assignments.

Abrahamic Religions
The British Library has a series of articles and collection items on Christianity, Islam and Judaism.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

Books and Journal Artices

In addition to searching for books and journal articles in the library catalogue you may want to search specific databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online database of journals, academic eBooks and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you are writing a history paper on ancient history to 1500 CE this database is a good place to start.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Theological Library Association, ALTA contains citations to articles, essays, and book reviews covering all fields of religion.
Coverage and Currency: Indexing 1949 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains journals and books on topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Coverage and Currency: 1911 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.

Visual Materials

Images provided by museums, art galleries, and universities are reliable sources to use when looking for images to use in your academic assignment, in part because they often provide detailed citation information.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digital images with descriptive information and software tools designed to enhance teaching and learning. The ARTstor digital image library documents architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture across many time periods and cultures. The digital images are derived from publishers, photographic archives, slide collections, museums, and individual scholars.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

The British Museum
Online access to over four million objects in The British Museum.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Cambridge Digital Library
Digitised material from the University of Cambridge. Includes Christian and Islamic manuscripts.
The Louvre Museum Online Collection
The online collection of the Louvre museum comprises high-resolution pictures and scans of artworks. The Atlas database covers some 30,000 objects on display in the museum. Art works include: Near Eastern Antiquities, Islamic Art, Egyptian Antiquities, Greek, Etruscan, and Roman Antiquities, Decorative Arts, Sculptures, Paintings, and Prints and Drawing.

Evaluate Your Sources

Evaluate the books, journal articles, and images you use in your assignments. The first source you find isn't always the best source to use in an academic assignment. For books, journal articles and websites, see Evaluating Information

For images, consider the following questions:

Where did you find the image? Who is the owner of the image?
What information is provided about the image? Is it enough to create a citation?
When was the photograph taken?
Why was the photograph taken?
Is it a good quality image?
Does the image speak directly to your topic, or does it just look nice?

Cite Your Sources

An abbreviated Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style guide is available from the Writing Centre as well as the complete Chicago Manual of Style online. The image you find might not include all the elements required for a complete citation. In that case, include as much information as you can. More information on citing images using the Chicago Style is provided by Simon Fraser University Library.

Copyright

Fair dealing will allow for the use of copyrighted works such as text, images, video, and sound recordings in multimedia assignments. For more information see Copyright for Students

History

Profile V2