Subject Guides: History: Historiography

Historiography

Jules Benjamin in A Student's Guide to History (2001) defines historiography as the "study of changes in the methods, interpretations, and conclusions of historians over time."

Library Catalogue

The word historiography is a subject term in the library catalogue. Combine the term historiography with a keyword on a topic in the search box on the main page of the library website. Start with a broad topic and then read what's been written on the subject to help you narrow your topic. For example:

imperialism historiography
Great Britain colonies historiography
cold war historiography
reformation historiography
United states race relations historiography
witchcraft historiography
slavery historiography
Vietnam war historiography
eugenics historiography
French revolution historiography

Browse books at the MacEwan library on historiography

Blackwell Companions to History give an overview of the scholarship and in some cases the controversies on a particular topic, time period or geographical locations. Search the library catalogue for blackwell companion in combination with a keyword on a topic. For example:

blackwell companion nineteen century europe
blackwell companion world history
blackwell companion christianity
blackwell companion african american history

Journal Article Databases

Combine your search terms with the term AND to effectively search for historiographies in Historical Abstracts, America History and Life, JSTOR and other journal article databases. For example, in the top search box in Historical Abstracts type:

Vietnam war and historiography

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on world history (excluding Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Also includes content in the related disciplines of archaeology, anthropology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1953 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Contains information on American and Canadian culture and history, from prehistory to the present. Subject areas include history, politics and government, philosophy, anthropology, sport and leisure, and science and medicine.
Coverage and Currency: 1954 to present.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

eBooks

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

History

Profile V2

Historiography

Library Catalogue

Journal Article Databases

eBooks