Business

Note: MarketLine Advantage (a database recommended for this assignment) was cancelled due to budget cuts years ago. The library has access to many other databases that can provide the same or comparable information that is needed for your assignment.

For additional research help, you can book an online appointment with Roxy, your subject librarian.

• Provides national and global industry reports and information. 
• Search by industry name or NAICS code (Use the NAICS Code Lookup to find your industry’s code).
• Information included in industry reports:
  • Competitive landscape and competitors
  • Market share and segmentation
  • Performance and outlook
  • Globalization trends
  • Revenue volatility
  • Cost structure benchmarks
• This database is recommended for gathering national and global industry information, identifying competitors, and for value chain analysis.
   

• Provides detailed company information and analysis.
• Search by company name or stock ticker code.
• Company information available:
  • General Financials - revenue, income, assets, expenditures, etc.
  • News articles about the company
  • Annual reports
  • Competitors and comparison charts
  • Supply chain - suppliers, products, partners, etc.
  • Company analysis
  • Industry analysis
• This database is recommended for gathering additional details about your company and about competitors. Annual reports are particularly useful in determining goals and risks to the company.
   

• Provides company and industry information and analysis. Scholarly articles and business news.
• Search company name to get company profiles. You can also search by industry or keyword to access articles.
• Information available in this database includes:
  • Company profiles - competitors, revenue, employees, strategy & planning, participating industries with NAICS codes. 
  • Investment reports and financial information
  • SWOT reports
  • Market share reports
  • Comparison charts (company and industry)
• This database is recommended for accessing specific reports such as SWOT reports and market share reports about a company or industry. 
• Browse through the tabs at the top of the homepage to search for specific types of reports like SWOT reports (found under the Companies tab)
   

• Provides access to scholarly articles, reports, and company and industry analysis.
• Search by keyword, company name, or industry. Use the Advanced Search to search for specific companies, industries, or document types with more accuracy. You can further narrow down results using the limiters on the left side of the search results page.
• Information available in this database includes:
  • Newspaper and magazine articles
  • Industry reports - by country and global
  • Company profiles
  • Market research reports - market snapshots by country
  • SWOT analysis
  • Country reports - economic and political outlooks and forecasts
• This database is recommended for accessing country reports and analyses to identify a target country. Company and industry information in this database can also be used along with data from other databases.
   

• A comprehensive database provided by EBSCO that provides access to peer-reviewed journals and academic articles.
• Provides detailed reports on various industries to help with understanding market trends and industry dynamics.
• Company profiles are included, containing financial data, SWOT analyses, and executive information.
• The database includes market research reports, which may be useful when analyzing market behaviour, product trends, and emerging markets.
• Contains real-world case studies.