Subject Guides: Business: HRMT 214

HRMT 214 - Industry Analysis

This guide contains instructions for finding industry information for an industry analysis.

Industry Databases

IBISWorld
Contains industry reports from Canada and the U.S., written at the five-digit NAICS level. Covers over 90% of the Canadian economy and over 93% of the U.S. economy. Includes industry performance outlook, major industry structure and markets, and major industry players and their market share.

Coverage and Currency 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Statista
Provides data, statistics, and summary reports on industry and market research topics. Includes consumer survey data and market analysis. Searchable by country, company, or keyword.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Finding Industry Analysis in IBIS World

STEP 1 - Examine your organization to identify the goods and services they offer. For example; Cold Lake Community Learning Centre offers classes in language learning.

STEP 2 - Go to the Library Business Subject Guide to link to IBIS World database. Search for industry keywords OR browse the industry categories under the Industries tab in the top right menu as pictured below.

For example; Under Industries> Canada >Educational Services Industries, there is a Language Instruction in Canada industry report relevant to the Cold Lake Centre.

STEP 3 - Once you find the industry report, download the PDF to get industry information.

STEP 4 - Cite APA style:

(Year, Month). Report Name. Report Number. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

E.g., (2022, May). Candy Production in the US. 31134. Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

Business

Profile V2

HRMT 214 - Industry Analysis

Industry Databases

Finding Industry Analysis in IBIS World