Subject Guides: Business: ORGA 201

ORGA 201

This page includes information to help you get started finding sources for Research or Case Study assignments.

Your Business Librarian, Martina King, is available to help you navigate the library's databases, develop search strategies, and troubleshoot access issues to the library's online resources.

See the Articles page and this video for finding peer reviewed articles!

Recommended Databases

To get you started, watch this video on how to search for company information. We recommend using one of the library's industry and company focused databases:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly business, management, and economics journals, along with magazines, company profiles, and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1886 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
This business database collects company and industry profiles, as well as company histories, industry essays, and business news.
Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports from Canada and the U.S., written at the five-digit NAICS level. Covers over 90% of the Canadian economy and over 93% of the U.S. economy. Includes industry performance outlook, major industry structure and markets, and major industry players and their market share.
Coverage and Currency 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers, and more. Also provides copies of annual reports, links for EDGAR filings, corporate profiles, and recent news for public companies from the United States.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, and summary reports on industry and market research topics. Includes consumer survey data and market analysis. Searchable by country, company, or keyword.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Case Study Assignment Parts and Corresponding Resources

Assignment Part	Information Sources
Company & Industry Information	Industry information and market information - use IBIS World Industry Reports - look for Major Companies in the left menu for more company specific information Company Annual Balance Sheets and Reports: Mergent - products and services, stakeholders Financial and SWOT Reports: Business Insights: Essentials
Identify Company Problems	Statista: Search your company name for stats - note the citation information on the right of each chart. Business Insights: Essentials: Search your company name and click on "news" to see articles.
Identify Solutions	See the Professional Sources page for a list of databases with business industry and news articles. You can look up similar case studies in the Sage Business Cases database to get ideas. The library subscribes to the following Journals and more, so you can get access: Bloomberg Businessweek Forbes Fortune Harvard Business Review The Economist

Business

Profile V2

ORGA 201

Recommended Databases

Case Study Assignment Parts and Corresponding Resources