Subject Guides: Business: BUSN 240

BUSN 240

This page includes information on the best databases to find data and analysis on companies for your research project.

Your Business Librarian, Martina King, is available to help you navigate the library's databases, develop search strategies, and troubleshoot access issues to the library's online resources.

Recommended Databases

To get you started, we recommend using one of the library's industry and company focused databases:

Gale Business Insights
This business database collects company and industry profiles, as well as company histories, industry essays, and business news.

Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
IBISWorld
Contains industry reports from Canada and the U.S., written at the five-digit NAICS level. Covers over 90% of the Canadian economy and over 93% of the U.S. economy. Includes industry performance outlook, major industry structure and markets, and major industry players and their market share.

Coverage and Currency 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Mergent (SEE Mergent Market Atlas)
Provides information on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers, and more. Also provides copies of annual reports, links for EDGAR filings, corporate profiles, and recent news for public companies from the United States.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ProQuest One Business
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Statista
Provides data, statistics, and summary reports on industry and market research topics. Includes consumer survey data and market analysis. Searchable by country, company, or keyword.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Guide to Databases

Database	How to Use
Gale Business Insights	Search by company name to find financial and SWOT Reports: Business Insights
IBIS World	Search for a company name if it is a major player or search for the Canadian or US industry that the company operates in. Example; PCL Construction > Under Industries, Canada, Construction >Commercial Building Construction Use IBIS World Industry Reports - Look under Industry Performance, Products and Markets, Companies, etc., to find forces and trends at work in that industry affecting the major players in that market.
Mergent	To get financial data, company annual balance sheets and reports, search the company name in Mergent
ProQuest One Business	Search Company Reports for your company names to get reports with financial insights, performance metrics, valuation as well ask key risks for certain aspects of the business.
Statista	Search for company or industry names to get data. For example, Canadian Retail or Costco. Tips: you can download chart data or visuals and there is citation information.

Business

Profile V2

BUSN 240

Recommended Databases

Guide to Databases