Skip to main content
Library.MacEwan.ca

John L. Haar Library is closed for renovations. Online services and Library Takeout are available.
Contact us via Library Chat during regular hours.

Nursing

Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Bachelor of Psychiatric Nursing, Centre for Professional Nursing Education

Profile V2

Assignment Guidelines

Always read your assignment guidelines. If your assignment guidelines differ from the information on this page, follow the instructions given by your course instructor.

Annotated Bibliography Steps

Article Selection: 

  • Select an intervention or program evaluation study published in a peer-reviewed journal.
    • Use the Library's Ulrichsweb Database, the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ.org), or journal website to confirm.
    • Review the Research Types handout linked below for brief definitions.
  • Database selection: Explore several databases, e.g. CINAHL, PsycINFO, SocINDEX, Nursing & Allied Health (Proquest), Proquest Public Health
  • Database search tip: Review & use database specific subject headings; Each database has its own controlled vocabulary. 

Summarize & Contextualize:

  • Describe intervention and / or method used in program evaluation 
  • Situate the source in context of other studies or other interventions 
  • Be succinct! Try to combine multiple ideas within single sentence(s)

Evaluate & Assess: 

Writing & APA

Questions?

Getting help

This work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International license. For exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.