Subject Guides: Nursing: NURS 380

Evidence-based point-of-care resources

Lippincott Advisor
Access evidence-based point-of-care information, including drug information and patient education materials.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Lippincott Procedures
Provides access to evidence-based procedure guidance at the point of care. Contains procedures and skills from a variety of nursing specialties, including allied health.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Look for Evidence-Based Care Sheets, located in the top menu.

Coverage and Currency: 1937 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Reliable Consumer Health Sites

Tools for Evaluating Online Health Information

Find Good Health Information
Medical Library Association: Finding Good Health Information & Guidelines for Evaluating
Finding and Evaluating Online Resources
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health: Finding & Evaluating Online Health Information
Evaluating Internet Health Information
MedLine Plus Tutorial
How to Review Online Health Information
UHN.ca (University Health Network, Toronto)

Site Search via Google

Searching tip
Focus your searches with 'site:' searching. The following are examples of finding statistics with a site search. Click on the link to see the search in a new window.

Topic: births by province
Website: statcan.gc.ca = Statistics Canada
births by province site:statcan.gc.ca

Topic: Mental Health Indicators (Canada)
Website: cihi.ca = Canadian Institute for Health Information
"mental health" site:cihi.ca

Topic: patient safety policies for nursing in Canada
Website: rnao.ca = Registered Nurses Association of Ontario
safety policy site:rnao.ca

Canadian Health Data

CIHI (Canadian Institute for Health Information)
Data and analysis on Canada's health system and the health of Canadians.
Statistics Canada - Health

Alberta Interactive Health Data

Nursing

Profile V2

Evidence-based point-of-care resources

Reliable Consumer Health Sites

Tools for Evaluating Online Health Information

Site Search via Google

Canadian Health Data