Subject Guides: Business: INTB 412

INTB 412 - Group Industry Analysis Project

**All library databases are listed on the Find a Database page. Limit by Subject to see all Business databases.

MarketLine Advantage (a database recommended for this assignment) was cancelled due to budget cuts and access ended on March 29th. The Library has access to many other databases that can provide the same or comparable information that is needed for your assignment.

For additional research help, you can book an online appointment with your Subject Librarian, Martina King or email her your questions at KingM10@macewan.ca.

Recommended Databases

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Coverage and Currency 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Provides national and global industry reports and information.
Search by industry name or NAICS code (Use the NAICS Code Lookup to find your industry’s code).
Information included in industry reports:
- Competitive landscape and competitors
- Market share and segmentation
- Performance and outlook
- Globalization trends
- Revenue volatility
- Cost structure benchmarks
This database is recommended for gathering national and global industry information, identifying competitors, and for value chain analysis.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Provides detailed company information and analysis.
Search by company name or stock ticker code.
Company information available:
- General Financials - revenue, income, assets, expenditures, etc.
- News articles about the company
- Annual reports
- Competitors and comparison charts
- Supply chain - suppliers, products, partners, etc.
- Company analysis
- Industry analysis
This database is recommended for gathering additional details about your company and about competitors. Annual reports are particularly useful in determining goals and risks to the company.

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Coverage and Currency: 1980 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Provides company and industry information and analysis. Scholarly articles and business news.
Search company name to get company profiles. You can also search by industry or keyword to access articles.
Information available in this database includes:
- Company profiles - competitors, revenue, employees, strategy & planning, participating industries with NAICS codes.
- Investment reports and financial information
- SWOT reports
- Market share reports
- Comparison charts (company and industry)
This database is recommended for accessing specific reports such as SWOT reports and market share reports about a company or industry.
Browse through the tabs at the top of the homepage to search for specific types of reports like SWOT reports (found under the Companies tab)

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Content: Contains the following databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive, and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.
Coverage and Currency: 1971 - present

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Provides access to scholarly articles, reports, and company and industry analysis.
Search by keyword, company name, or industry. Use the Advanced Search to search for specific companies, industries, or document types with more accuracy. You can further narrow down results using the limiters on the left side of the search results page.
Information available in this database includes:
- Newspaper and magazine articles
- Industry reports - by country and global
- Company profiles
- Market research reports - market snapshots by country
- SWOT analysis
- Country reports - economic and political outlooks and forecasts
This database is recommended for accessing country reports and analyses to identify a target country. Company and industry information in this database can also be used along with data from other databases.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Coverage and Currency: 1886 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Provides access to scholarly articles, reports, and company and industry analysis.
Search by keyword or company name.
Information available in this database includes:
- Scholarly articles, magazines, and trade publications
- SWOT reports
- Industry profiles
- Market research reports
- Country reports
- Product reviews
This database is recommended for when you need scholarly and professional literature to assist in your analysis of a company. Industry profiles and SWOT reports can also be used in combination with other databases.

Sustainalytics

Provides company information related to Environmental, Social, and Corporate Governance (ESG) research and ratings.
Search by company.
Company information available:
- ESG risk rating
- Company controversies and related news coverage - including analysis of labour and human rights controversies in different countries
- Product involvement
Also includes industry ESG ratings. Locate the Research tab at the top of the screen and select “ESG Risk Rating - Industry Report.” Search by industry.
This database is recommended when searching for controversies surrounding a company. Keep an eye out for information about how controversies were handled and whether those strategies were successful.

Business

Profile V2

INTB 412 - Group Industry Analysis Project

Recommended Databases