Subject Guides: Nursing: NURS 380

Evaluating Online Health Information

Websites for Class Activity

Reliable Consumer Health Sites

Site Search via Google

Searching tip
Focus your searches with 'site:' searching. The following are examples of finding information with a site search. Click on the link to see the search in a new window.

Topic: births by province
Website: statcan.gc.ca = Statistics Canada
births by province site:statcan.gc.ca

Topic: Mental Health Indicators (Canada)
Website: cihi.ca = Canadian Institute for Health Information
"mental health" site:cihi.ca

Topic: tick-borne Lyme disease in Canada
Website: canada.ca = Government of Canada
tick-borne Lyme disease site:canada.ca

Canadian Health Data

Evidence-based point-of-care resources

Lippincott Advisor
Access evidence-based point-of-care information, including drug information and patient education materials.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Lippincott Procedures
Provides access to evidence-based procedure guidance at the point of care. Contains procedures and skills from a variety of nursing specialties, including allied health.

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Look for Evidence-Based Care Sheets, located in the top menu.

Coverage and Currency: 1937 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Lippincott Download & Authenticate Instructions

You need to be on the MacEwan Secure network to activate. Then access from anywhere!

From Google Play store or Apple’s App store: Search for: “Lippincott Advisor” Advisor & Procedure apps are downloaded separately
Once you open the app you will see a login screen: Do not try to login
Choose IP Authenticate. See Image below. If this is not working, check to see that you are on the MacEwan Secure network.

More Reliable Health Sites

Library Class Slides

Library Class Lesson Slides NURS 380 FA2025

Nursing

Profile V2