Discover the NFB’s rich online collection of Indigenous-made films. Topics include Subjects include education, Indigenous economies, governance, colonization, justice, law, rights, ecological knowledge, health, language, spirituality, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1968 - 2017 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Consists of streamed video titles, including popular and Canadian documentaries, the Criterion Collection and other classic films, world cinema, the Great Courses, HBO documentary films, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Comprised of electronic resources with a primary focus on the Indigenous peoples living in Canada, with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. The resources include full text articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The database contains both freely available materials as well as licensed resources.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This project was started by Adrienne Heavy Head in partnership with the University of Lethbridge library. The website has images, videos, documents, and audios in which you can listen to Blackfoot Elders narrating traditional oral stories.
There is a Phraseology page from which you can choose from a dropdown menu of many phrases pertaining to animals, ecology, eating, household items, directions, weather, and everyday conversation. The phrase collection is quite extensive and most have audio.
YouTube channel by the Canadian Media Fund featuring Canadian content. Search for broad terms like "Indigenous" or more specific ones like "Cree" or "Métis", or for individual films/filmmakers.
