Subject Guides: Indigenous Studies: Encyclopedias

Why use encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias can be an excellent place to look for an overview of your topic and to discover useful keywords for further searching.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains Indians by David J. Wishart (Editor)
ISBN: 9780803298620
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Covers the peoples, places, processes, and events that have shaped lives of the Indians of the Great Plains from the beginnings of human habitation to the present.

The Canadian Encyclopedia
Multimedia encyclopedia of Canadian history available in English and French. It is home to more than 40,000 articles, 6,000 interactive maps, graphs, photographs and animations. Includes the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.

Native Peoples of the World: an Encylopedia of Groups, Cultures and Contemporary Issues by Steven L. Danver
ISBN: 9780765682949
Publication Date: 2014
This work examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Indigenous Writes: A guide to first nations, Metis & Inuit issues in Canada by Chelsea Vowel
ISBN: 9781553797043
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Native American Legal Tradition by Bruce E. Johansen
ISBN: 9780313008689
Integrating American Indian law and Native American political and legal traditions, this encyclopedia includes detailed descriptions of nearly two dozen Native American Nations' legal and political systems.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Print

General E-reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Points of View Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Indigenous Studies

Profile V2

Why use encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Online

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Handbooks -- Print

General E-reference Sources