Subject Guides: Indigenous Studies: Books

Select Book Collections

First Voices: Contemporary Indigenous Fiction, Verse, & More
Online or in-person, explore the library's First Voices Collection. This collection includes fiction, poetry, and more.

Indigenous Studies E-Book Collection - Canada This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ebooks by, for, and about the Indigenous peoples living in Canada.
Coverage and Currency: 1978 - 2021
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Graphic Novels & Zines

Writer and academic Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair reminds us that "graphic writing—now called comic books—are the oldest and most creative form of Indigenous writing. From rock faces to skin to panels and pages, comic books encapsulate histories and dreams of Peoples and nations." Camille Callison & Candida Rifkind, 2019).

Explore an array of fiction and nonfiction Indigenous graphic novels and comics featuring First Nations, Métis, and Inuit writers and artists.

To browse, head directly to the Graphic Novels Collection to the left of the Library Services Desk in Building 7.

This Place: 150 Years Retold by Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Sonny Assu, Brandon Mitchell, Rachel Qitsualik-Tinsley, Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley, David A. Robertson, Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Jen Storm, Richard Van Camp, Katherena Vermette, Chelsea Vowel
ISBN: 9781553797586
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Explore the past 150 years through the eyes of Indigenous creators in this groundbreaking graphic novel anthology.
Sovereign Traces (Vol 2): Relational Constellation by Elizabeth LaPensée (Editor)
ISBN: 9781938065118
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
Relational Constellation provides a unique opportunity for audiences to hear from a myriad of American Indian and First Nations voices on the meaning of love.
Moonshot by Hope Nicholson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780987715258
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
An anthology of stories about identity, culture, and spirituality told by writers and artists from a range of communities across North America including many creators that identify as Métis, Inuit, Dene, Anishnaabe, Cree, Mi'kmaq, Caddo, Haida, Sioux, Suquamish, and others.

Juvenile Collection

Just as storytelling is for all ages, there are teachings for everyone in children's books! Take some time to explore titles in the juvenile collection by Indigenous authors and illustrators.

Bedtime in Nunatsiavut by Raeann Brown
ISBN: 9781551528878
Publication Date: 2022-06-07
Nunatsiavut is a beautiful and joyful tribute to an Inuit childhood.
On the Trapline by David A. Robertson; Julie Flett (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780735266681
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
A boy and Moshom (his grandpa) visit a place of great meaning to Moshom.
Meennunyakaa / Blueberry Patch by Jennifer Leason; Norman Chartrand (Editor)
ISBN: 9781926886589
Publication Date: 2019-09-24
An Elder shares his experience of packing up to go out to collect blueberries, a traditional gathering that took place every summer.
Métis Camp Circle: A bison culture way of life / Li kaan roon di Michif: kaa kii paypimaatishiyaahk avik lii bufloo. by Leah Dorion; Norman Fleury (Translator)
ISBN: 1926795954
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Author and artist Leah Marie Dorion transports young readers back in time when bison were the basis of Métis lifeways on the Plains.

Indigenous Studies

Profile V2

Select Book Collections

Graphic Novels & Zines

Juvenile Collection