Subject Guides: Chemistry: CHEM 364

Find Synonyms and Chemical Structures

Use Common Chemistry to search for your molecule by name to find alternative names, CAS registry number, chemical formula, and chemical structure.

Common Chemistry

Find Secondary Sources (Encyclopedias)

Search for your molecule by name in encyclopedias to find background information. The following two links are individual encyclopedias.

The following links are databases consisting of large collections of reference works (encyclopedias and dictionaries). Search for your molecule by name to find results from a large number of encyclopedias and other reference works.

Find Articles (Primary Sources)

SciFinder-n (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Registration page where new users of SciFinder Scholar can set up a personal account. See the description associated with SciFinder Scholar (Access) for more information.
Coverage and Currency: 1907 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SciFinder-n (Access) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to CAplus (Chemical Abstracts) and Medline. Includes complete coverage of chemistry and related sciences, such as biochemistry, genomics, genetics, and related areas. Contains references and abstracts from scientific journals and patent information from official patent issuing authorities, in addition to conference proceedings, dissertations, books, technical reports, and other literature. Includes substance information, chemical synthesis, and regulated chemicals information.
Coverage and Currency: 1907 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. First-time users must register to acquire an account name and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical, and medical information. Includes citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers, plus scientific web pages and patent records.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of journals in all science and social science disciplines.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Watch: Structure Searching in SciFinder

SciFinder - Quick Guide

Citing in ACS Style

Use the American Chemical Society Style Guide to cite information in Chemistry.

ACS Style Quick Guide
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Section 4.3 References provides citation guidance for different types of sources.

Reference formatting and examples by source type:
- Citing journal articles (section 4.3.5.2)
- Citing books and ebooks (section 4.3.5.3)
- Citing websites (section 4.3.5.4)
- Citing patents (section 4.3.5.5)
- Citing safety data sheets (section 4.3.5.13)

CASSI Abbreviation Search Tool
Find journal abbreviations
Search Crossref
Find Digital Object Identified (DOI) for article published online or for ebook

Chemistry

Profile V2

Find Synonyms and Chemical Structures

Find Secondary Sources (Encyclopedias)

Find Articles (Primary Sources)

Watch: Structure Searching in SciFinder

Citing in ACS Style