Contains full text reference works in the field of science.
Coverage and Currency: 1618 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains the full text of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, images, videos, and more. The following subject areas are covered: applied sciences,biology, chemistry, earth and space science, energy, environmental science, forensic science, health and medicine, history of science, life science, mathematics, physics, science and society, science as inquiry, science careers, and more.
Coverage and Currency 1859 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, including arguments about the future direction of the debate. Subject areas covered include archaeology, business and management, classics and history, criminology and law, linguistics and literature, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physical sciences, political science, psychology, and sociology.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Evaluating Sources
The CRAAP test is one framework that can help guide you through the process of evaluating sources.
Currency: The timeliness of the information
Relevance: The importance or usefulness of the information for your needs
Authority: Who created the content? Do they have expertise relevant to the content of the source?
Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the informational content
Purpose: The reason the source exists? Why was it created and who is the intended audience?
More information about evaluating sources can be found on the library website.
Citing in ACS Style
Use the American Chemical Society Style Guide to cite information in Chemistry.
