Use the American Chemical Society Style Guide to cite information in Chemistry.
The library has several books that can help you write great papers and lab reports. Start with the books listed below.
Search the library with keyword combinations such as writing AND chemistry or writing AND "lab reports" to find additional writing resources.
Write Like a Chemist by
Write Like a Chemist: A Guide and Resource focuses on four types of writing that are common in chemistry: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal. Users of the book will learn to write through a host of exercises, ranging in difficulty from correcting single words and sentences to writing professional-quality papers, abstracts, posters, and proposals. This second edition of Write Like a Chemist has been updated to include new excerpts from the primary literature and other chemistry genres, updated tables and figures that can be consulted for chemistry-specific writing patterns and practices, infographics developed by inChemistry that convey essentials for writing conference abstracts and preparing scientific posters, a scientific poster template and corresponding model poster that can be used for poster creation, and updated exercises and task types. Additional resources for students and instructors have been placed on the Write Like a Chemist companion website, which includes exercises, answer keys, and a separate and secure section with materials for faculty adopting the book for a university course.
Your Chemical Science Thesis by
THIS PRODUCT IS SOLD IN PACKS OF TEN ONLY * Writing your thesis will be a major task within your research career. In particular, the Chemical Sciences thesis will generally fit into a certain format and this introductory guide is ideal for anyone currently writing, or about to write, this type of thesis. Divided into six chapters, this no fuss booklet provides an informative step-by-step guide on everything you need to know, from the practicalities of actually getting started, through to completion and submission. The guide follows a logical format and the text itself broken up with helpful nuggets of advice and useful pointers. Practical tips on how best to write up each section of your thesis are offered: asking a "non-science" friend to proof-read your work, ways to improve and revise your text and factors to consider when drawing your diagrams are examples indicative of the type of advice given throughout the text. The guide finishes with a number of useful resources for further guidance, and even points to future employment possibilities after completion of your thesis. Your Chemical Science Thesis: An Introductory Guide to Writing up your Research Project is an excellent, highly informative and well written booklet. Ideal reading for those last steps on your educational pathway. *There is no RSC Membership discount available on this product
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
"The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints."--Provided by publisher.
The Art of Scientific Writing by
Most scientists live in a "publish or perish" environment, but few would describe themselves as brilliant (or enthusiastic) writers. Coming to the aid of all those wishing to improve the quality of their scientific writing -- established researchers and aspiring students alike -- three experienced authors/scientists from differing backgrounds and cultures have compiled this classic guide. This new edition has been completely revised to reflect dramatic changes in communication over the past 15 years. The primary emphasis is on writing techniques, accurate expression, adherence to accepted standards, and above all clarity, but the authors also venture into communication technology and organizational as well as ethical aspects of science. Numerous appendices and a particularly comprehensive index complete this highly useful book. "The authors have a passion, not only for clarity and economy of style, but also for precision and consistency." --Nature "A wealth of information contained in a single book of manageable proportions. Students reporting on a simple laboratory experiment and their teachers preparing a paper or lecture will both find this book a constant companion." --European Science Editing "The book under review claims, 'we know of no book as broad in its coverage, as critical in its analysis of existing trends, and as international in its scope'. This claim is immodest but accurate." --Trends in Pharmacological Sciences
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
Emphasizing writing as a means to examining, evaluating, sharing, and refining ideas, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry will help chemists develop the language skills the field demands. KEY TOPICS: This book covers the kinds of readings and writing that chemists are called on to do-from introductory to more advanced work-in academic and industrial settings, and in public life. With comprehensive coverage on topics including graphing programs, ACS formats, Science Citation Index, Merck Index, and writing abstracts, this book is a "must-have" for any aspiring chemist. This edition also provides updated coverage on the Internet, working with computers, and electronic sources.MARKET: For anyone interested in a practical and rewarding guide to communicating successfully about chemistry.
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
This writing guide, by the author of Pearson's best-selling Short Guide to Writing about Biology along with two well-known chemists, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing. Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers, A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry emphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The book teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipli≠ maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
