Subject Guides: Chemistry: CHEM 232

Find Articles

SciFinder (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Registration page where new users of SciFinder Scholar can set up a personal account. See the description associated with SciFinder Scholar (Access) for more information.
Coverage and Currency: 1907 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
SciFinder (Access) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to CAplus (Chemical Abstracts) and Medline. Includes complete coverage of chemistry and related sciences, such as biochemistry, genomics, genetics, and related areas. Contains references and abstracts from scientific journals and patent information from official patent issuing authorities, in addition to conference proceedings, dissertations, books, technical reports, and other literature. Includes substance information, chemical synthesis, and regulated chemicals information.
Coverage and Currency: 1907 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. First-time users must register to acquire an account name and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical, and medical information. Includes citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers, plus scientific web pages and patent records.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of journals in all science and social science disciplines.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Writing in Chemistry

The library has several books that can help you write great papers and lab reports. Start with the books listed below.

Search the library with keyword combinations such as writing AND chemistry or writing AND "lab reports" to find additional writing resources.

Ebooks in the library

Write Like a Chemist by Marin S. Robinson; Fredricka L. Stoller
ISBN: 9786611724030
Publication Date: 2022-11-11
Your Chemical Science Thesis by Natalie Mansfield
ISBN: 9781849730686
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
ISBN: 9780841235830
Publication Date: 2020

Print books in the library

The Art of Scientific Writing by Hans F. Ebel; Claus Bliefert; William E. Russey
Call Number: QD9.15 .E23 2005
ISBN: 9783527298297
Publication Date: 2004-03-12
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by Herbert Beall; John Trimbur
Call Number: QD9.15 .B43 2001
ISBN: 0321078446
Publication Date: 2000-07-21
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by Holly Davis; Julian Tyson; Jan Pechenik
Call Number: QD9.15 .D38 2010
ISBN: 9780205550609
Publication Date: 2009-12-15

ACS Citation Style

Use the American Chemical Society Style Guide to cite information in Chemistry.

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication

Reference formatting and examples by source type:
- Citing journal articles (section 4.3.5.2)
- Citing books and ebooks (section 4.3.5.3)
- Citing websites (section 4.3.5.4)
- Citing patents (section 4.3.5.5)
- Citing safety data sheets (section 4.3.5.13)
ACS Style Quick Guide

CASSI Abbreviation Search Tool
Search for journal abbreviations
Search Crossref
Find Digital Object Identified (DOI) for article published online or for ebook

Chemistry

Profile V2

Find Articles

Writing in Chemistry

Ebooks in the library

Print books in the library

ACS Citation Style