MacEwan University Library's search will automatically limit to items only available at MacEwan, if you uncheck the "Available in MacEwan Collection" (under Limiters on the left hand side of your search results) you'll see what our partner libraries (like the University of Alberta libraries) have and be able to request those items be sent to MacEwan BUT be aware:
Ebooks from partner libraries aren't accessible unless MacEwan also has a copy (although if you go to the University of Alberta in-person, you can get on-site access), so if you're looking for ebooks specifically, leave the "Available in MacEwan Collection" checked on, for the easiest browsing
there may be more than one catalogue record/entry for a book and sometimes the first entry isn't for the MacEwan copy - scroll down and check the entries below the first to confirm that we don't already have the title
Occasionally we will have both the print version and the electronic version of a book, in these cases, there will be two separate records/entries for the book.
Some people find it easier to search for books in our alternative NEOS catalogue. To get there, go to the library menu, click on "Find Resources" then click "Other Library Catalogues" under "Search Tools." On the next page, type your search into the "NEOS Catalogue" search box
Provides access to multiple collections of ebooks on a variety of topics, including the arts, business, education, health, history, literature, language, philosophy, social science, science, and technology.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides access to ebooks on a variety of topics, including the arts, business, education, health, history, literature, language, philosophy, social science, science, and technology.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information. Note: The ebooks contained herein are subscription only and therefore unstable and not suitable for course adoption.
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains streaming video of definitive performances of some of the world's leading plays (recorded while performed for a live theatre audience), and film documentaries. Covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history.
Coverage and Currency: 1930s to present. Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Comprised of a digital collection of humanities ebooks offered by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies), in collaboration with publishers and librarians at the University of Michigan’s Scholarly Publishing Office. The titles have been recommended and reviewed by scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 1857 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
