Subject Guides: English: ENGL 389

ENGL 389 Children's Literature - Finding Children's Books

When searching in the Library's Main Search, use the Collection filter on the left and select the "Juvenile" option.

If it says Juvenile before the call number, then it's part of our Juvenile collection.

The Children's Collection is located in building 6 on the second floor, in the alcove across from the Makerspace. Use the "Place Hold" function to have the Library staff pull the book for you. You will get an email when it is ready to be picked up.

Try the resources below for ideas, or search Google or Amazon for topic lists. If you know the title of the book you are looking for, search for it by title using the Library Search box.

You can also register for an L-Pass and use the Edmonton Public Library! Search for titles at epl.ca.

Digital Collections of Children's Book

University of Florida Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
International Children's Digital Library
A collection of historical and contemporary books from around the world.
UCLA Children's Book Collection

Selected Web Resources

National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Contains films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. It includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction, and interactive works.
Coverage and Currency: 1917 to present
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.

American Indians in Children's Literature
Debbie Reese's blog gives critical perspectives and analysis of Indigenous Peoples in children's and young adult books, popular culture, and society.
Of Other Worlds: A Children's Literature Blog by William Thompson

Reference Books

A to Zoo : Subject Access to Children's Picture Books
Call Number: PN1009 .A1 Z95
Best Books For Children : Preschool Through Grade 6
Call Number: Z1037 .G48
Children's Literature by Peter Hunt Editor
Call Number: PR990 .C495 1995
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Peter Hunt Editor
Call Number: PN1008.5 .I57 2004
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Jack Zipes Editor
Call Number: PN1008.5 .O94 2006

Palgrave Handbook of Children's Film and Television forthcoming Ebook

Key Journals

Databases

These are the best databases for criticism and analysis of children's literature.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains education research and practice, including child development, learning and cognition, curriculum and instruction, and the philosophy and history of education, at all age levels. Consists of citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals. Includes full text digests along with references for additional information.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Coverage and Currency: 1843 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals, including synopses, author biographies, literary criticism, full text of short stories and poetry, and images of key literary figures.
Coverage and Currency: 1901 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles, essays, links to websites, biographies, author portraits, and definitions of literary terms. Covers all genres, from all time periods and from around the world.
Coverage and Currency: 600 C.E. to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Consists of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, including full text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Coverage and Currency: 600 C.E. to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Literary Centre This link opens in a new window
Comprised of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing (ECW) Press. Includes literary criticism, book reviews, essays, and author biographies.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

English

Profile V2