Subject Guides: English: Articles

Search Tips

Looking for articles ABOUT an author? See if the database has an option to do a "subject" and enter your author's name lastname, firstname.

Looking for literary criticism about a work of literature? Do a search with quotation marks around the title to keep it as a phrase like "Clockwork Orange."

When you're thinking of keywords to include in your search, remember that some keywords might have more useful synonyms (for example, if you were looking for resources about teens, 'youth' or 'adolescent' might also make good keywords).

Looking for Newspaper articles? Our main search won't include newspaper articles. If you want to search for newspaper articles, follow these instructions.

Databases

These databases focus on English Literature, analysis of poems, short stories, novels and drama.

MLA International Bibliography
Coverage and Currency: 1843 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

JSTOR
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals, including synopses, author biographies, literary criticism, full text of short stories and poetry, and images of key literary figures.
Coverage and Currency: 1901 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literature Resource Center
Provides journal articles, essays, links to websites, biographies, author portraits, and definitions of literary terms. Covers all genres, from all time periods and from around the world.
Coverage and Currency: 600 C.E. to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Literature Online
Consists of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, including full text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Coverage and Currency: 600 C.E. to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Literary Centre
Comprised of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing (ECW) Press. Includes literary criticism, book reviews, essays, and author biographies.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers aspects of the culture, history, and life of the Indigenous peoples living in what is commonly known as North America. Includes a wide range of topics such as archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Consists of citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
Coverage and Currency: 1500s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
Comprised of electronic resources with a primary focus on the Indigenous peoples living in Canada, with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond. The resources include full text articles, e-books, theses, government publications, videos, oral histories, and digitized archival documents and photographs. The database contains both freely available materials as well as licensed resources.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive Online, 1842-2003
Includes all issues of the Illustrated London News. Covers topics such as the arts, discovery and exploration, fashion, industry and trade, military history, politics, sciences and medicine, social history, sport, transportation, and travel.
Coverage and Currency: 1842 - 2003
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Shakespeare Collection
Provides a comprehensive, cross-searchable coverage of Shakespeare's work, critical reception, textual history, performance history, and cultural and historical context. Includes the complete Arden Shakespeare (texts, notes, introductions, and commentaries), and the inclusion of primary sources, historical editions, and contemporary criticism.
Coverage and Currency: 1517 - 1975
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MEMSO : Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online
Consists of a searchable digital library of historical sources for the history of England, Scotland, and Ireland in the Medieval and Early Modern periods to 1800. Contains original manuscript images.
Coverage and Currency: 1100 - 1800
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Academic Search Complete
Includes indexes, abstracts, articles, and videos in a variety of subjects, but especially the following: biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Evaluating Articles

Scholarly or not? Three quick questions:

Does it have a bibliography (reference list, works cited page, footnotes)?
How long is it? A scholarly article should be more than 6 pages to contain a robust analysis.
Is the author affiliated with a research or post-secondary institution?

English

Profile V2

Search Tips

Databases

Evaluating Articles

Library Search