Provides access to chemical and physical property data appropriate for undergraduate to professional levels. This resource includes content from the Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD), Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds (POC), and CRCPress Periodic Table Online.
Coverage and Currency: Up to 102nd Edition (2022) Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote Login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing basic chemical information.
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) also called as Safety Data Sheets (SDS) provide safety information for chemical substances. They are provided by chemical manufacturing companies, and they contain important information about hazards such as flammability and reactivity and instructions for how to handle and store chemical substances safely. MSDS are normally provided electronically by chemical supply companies. Each company maintains a database of MSDS for the chemicals they sell. These databases can be searched to find MSDS for chemical substances. Below are two examples of such databases.
