Subject Guides: Massage Therapy: Articles

Library Search

MacEwan Library
NEOS Libraries
Other Libraries

Find articles, books, and more.

Search the NEOS catalogue

Keyword Starting With

Optional: you can limit your search by library

Advanced Search

Search the Edmonton Public Library Catalogue

Search the TAL (The Alberta Library) Catalogue

Click here to access the TAL search options.

Databases

MacEwan University Library subscribes to well over 100 databases. The databases below are the ones deemed most useful for your program (listed in alphabetical order) . For the complete list of Library databases click here: Find a Database. You may also want to check out databases listed on the following Subject Guides: Holistic Health Practitioner, Acupuncture and Nursing.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes, abstracts, articles, and videos in a variety of subjects, but especially the following: biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to resources in alternative and complementary medicine and health. Focuses on the complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides complete content from international and professional journals, magazines, reports, and newsletters plus pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
Coverage and Currency: 1984 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals. Includes point-of-care information with evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions.
Coverage and Currency: 1937 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Cochrane Library - Public Interface
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Evidence-based medicine reviews) This link opens in a new window
Contains evidence-based information on clinical topics for health professionals and researchers. It includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.
Coverage and Currency: 1991 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Contains references and citations to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Specific coverage includes medicine, dental science, and nursing, as well as allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Coverage and Currency: 1809 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Natural and Alternative Treatments This link opens in a new window
Contains information on alternative and holistic approaches to healthcare and wellness. Subjects include acupuncture, Chinese and Western herbal medicine, cranial-sacral therapy, reflexology, supplements, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Includes scholarly peer-reviewed journals, nursing dissertations, nursing-related newspaper articles, medical and nursing trade publications, as well as articles from popular magazines and health magazines, systematic reviews, evidence summaries, and best practice information sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute.
Coverage and Currency: 1986 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ProQuest Public Health This link opens in a new window
Presents public health information, literature, and research. Consists of journal articles, news, and trade publications and reports, along with dissertations. Covers core public health literature with disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
Coverage and Currency: 1972 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers medicine, molecular biology, microbiology and health sciences with information derived from MEDLINE.
Coverage and Currency: 1800s to present
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of Elsevier journals and books in the life, physical, health, technical, and social sciences, as well as chemistry, physics, astronomy, earth and atmospheric sciences, computer science, and engineering.
Coverage and Currency: 1823 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Note: The ebooks contained herein are subscription only and therefore unstable and not suitable for course adoption.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains information on the topics of physical education, recreation and leisure studies, international sport and fitness, and other sport disciplines including sports medicine, physical therapy, sport psychology, exercise physiology, and dance. Includes access to journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and web sites.
Coverage and Currency: 1930 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Selected Journals

The following suggested list of massage therapy trade magazines and scholarly journals are listed in alphabetical order:

International Journal of Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork
Academic/scholarly journal - available online (open access)
Journal of Bodywork & Movement Therapies
Academic/scholarly journal - available online and in print
more...less...
Covers practical approaches to musculoskeletal dysfunction applicable across all bodywork, movement and manual therapies.

Publisher: Churchill Livingstone, United Kingdom
Frequency: Quarterly
Massage and Bodywork
Consumer magazine - available online
more...less...
For an International audience of massage, bodywork, somatic and esthetic therapy professionals. The latest research, historical perspectives massage techniques, business information, professional trends and a variety of regularly featured columns keep the audience in touch with their work, their clients and their health.

Publisher: Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals Inc., United States
Frequency: Bi-monthly
Massage Magazine
Trade magazine - available online and in print
more...less...
Covers the art and science of massage therapy and related healing arts, supporting readers promoting the benfits of healing touch.

Publisher: Massage Magazine, United States
Frequency: Bi-monthly
Massage Therapy Canada
Trade magazine - available in print
more...less...
Publisher: MT Publishing, Canada
Frequency: 3 times/year
Massage Therapy Journal
Trade Magazine - available in print.
more...less...
Feature articles and columns cover techniques, research, successful practices, business advice and industry news relating to massage therapy.

Publisher: American Massage Therapy Association, United States
Frequency: Quarterly
Massage Today
Trade magazine - available online
more...less...
Publisher: M P A Media, United States
Frequency: Monthly

Massage Therapy

Profile V2

Library Search

Find articles, books, and more.

Databases

Selected Journals

Find by Citation