Primary Legal Databases - Find Legislation & Case Law
CanLII: Canadian Legal Information InstituteThis link opens in a new windowProvides primary sources of Canadian law. It includes legislative and judicial texts, as well as legal commentaries, from federal, provincial, and territorial jurisdictions.
This collection also contains previous statutes of Canadian legislation, showing legislative changes over time.
Coverage and Currency: 1877 to present Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.
LawSource (WestLaw)This link opens in a new windowProvides search access to Canadian primary law, legislation, and court decisions, as well as comprehensive secondary legal materials, such as the case comments from law reports, the entire Canadian Encyclopedia Digest, and case summaries for the Canadian Abridgment. PDF copy of Original judgment or decisions are not available to be downloaded.
Coverage and Currency: 1867 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text news, business, and legal publications. News coverage includes backfiles and current stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Coverage and Currency: 2017 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Secondary Legal Databases - Find Articles in Law Journals
If you are looking for articles about legal issues in Canada, try these databases first:
Canadian Business and Current AffairsThis link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Reference CentreThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to Canadian magazines, newspapers, images, and reference books, as well as leading international periodicals and reference books.
Coverage and Currency: 1900s to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
LawSource (WestLaw)This link opens in a new windowProvides search access to Canadian primary law, legislation, and court decisions, as well as comprehensive secondary legal materials, such as the case comments from law reports, the entire Canadian Encyclopedia Digest, and case summaries for the Canadian Abridgment. PDF copy of Original judgment or decisions are not available to be downloaded.
Coverage and Currency: 1867 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Licensed under CC BY-NC | Excludes website content where the Library is not the copyright owner.