Why use Encyclopedias? Encyclopedias can be an excellent place to look for an overview of your topic and to discover useful keywords for further searching.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood Studies navigates our understanding of the historical, political, social and cultural dimensions of childhood.
Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition from the American Psychiatric Association.
Coverage and Currency: 1998 to present. Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains specially commissioned entries on influential events, figures, and publications to have made an impact on the field of sociology, written and edited by an international team of scholars.
Coverage and Currency: 2007 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote Login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Social and behavioural sciences, including related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health.
The Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development consists of three volumes that address the major conceptual areas of child development: learning, behavior, and emotions.
Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life
Perfect for research assignments in psychology, science and history, this one-stop source for in-depth coverage of major psychological theories and the people who developed them provides a unique approach to the study of psychological history as it pertains to analysis
Entries provide brief, clear explanations to the vast number of ideas and concepts that make up the intellectual and scientific content in the area of social psychology.
Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. Discusses history, current trends and future directions.Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Should I use Wikipedia?
Find out more about Wikipedia and how it can be helpful for research.
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Licensed under CC BY-NC | Excludes website content where the Library is not the copyright owner.