Subject Guides: Classics: CLAS 261

Finding Materials on Women in the Ancient World

Try the following KEYWORDS in the library catalogue

women and antiquity
women and greece and history
women and rome and history
greece and civilization
greece and history
rome and civilization
rome and history

Books in the library are arranged by subject. Browse the following call number ranges in the library

GT530-GT580 Ancient dress and costume
HN9-HN10 Ancient social history
HQ13 Ancient sexuality
HQ505-HQ1012 The family in the ancient world
HQ1127-HQ1139 Women in the ancient world
HT863 Ancient slavery
KJA Roman law
R126-R127 Ancient medical works
R135 History of ancient medicine

Databases

Try the following databases to find journal articles, or book chapters and bibliographies

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Contains downloadable essays taken from Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Covers topics and figures as diverse as gothic fiction and Arabic philosophy, W.B. Yeats and Martin Luther. Also introduces major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods, with the intent of appealing to student readers. Provides systematic critical accounts, supporting each title with reference features such as a chronology and a guide to further reading.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the collection of Cambridge University Press histories, comprised of volumes published since 1960, in subjects such as political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency: 1960 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Oxford Bibliographies - Classics This link opens in a new window
Consists of an annotated bibliography of scholarship on an array of topics concerning the ancient world. Includes primary and secondary sources, commentaries, multiple important editions, critiques, textbooks, journals, reference works, and links to useful websites.
Coverage and Currency: 2009 - 2022
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text journals and books on all aspects of the humanities.
Coverage and Currency
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including art, archaeology, history, music, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
Coverage and Currency: 1928 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Books

Women's Life in Greece and Rome, by Mary R. Lefkowitz and Maureen R. Fant

Women and Society in Greek and Roman Egypt: a sourcebook, edited by Jane Rowlandson

Women in the Classical World, by Elaine Fantham

Pandora: Women in Classical Greece, by Ellen Reeder

The Family in Ancient Rome: new perspectives, by Beryl Rawson

Women and Law in the Roman Empire: a sourcebook on marriage, divorce and widowhood, by Judith Ann Evans-Grubbs

Women in Ancient Greece: a sourcebook, by Bonnie MacLachlan

Goddesses, Whores, Wives and Slaves: women in classical antiquity by Sarah Pomeroy

Online Resources

Women's History Sourcebook
Primary sources in the public domain. Editor, Paul Halsall, Fordham University.
Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Editor-in Chief, Gregory R. Crane, Tufts University.

Classics

Profile V2

Finding Materials on Women in the Ancient World

Databases

Books

Online Resources