These resources will give you a basic overview, provide you with main concepts and keywords for creating a research strategy. Reference sources may also provide lists of articles and books for additional reading. Don't forget to check your lecture notes and textbooks for valuable background information!
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
Consists of an annotated bibliography of scholarship on an array of topics concerning the ancient world. Includes primary and secondary sources, commentaries, multiple important editions, critiques, textbooks, journals, reference works, and links to useful websites.
Coverage and Currency: 2009 - 2022 Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Covers every aspect of history, culture, religion, and life in Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Near East (including the Persian Empire and Central Asia) between c. 250 to 750 C.E., the era known as Late Antiquity.
Coverage and Currency: 250 - 750 C.E. Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This wondrous encyclopaedia gathers together over 100 myths from across the globe, featuring Mesopotamian creation stories, Roman legends, Norse epics, indigenous tales and more. These abridged stories open a window into the ancient landscapes, histories and beliefs that make up our cultural inheritance
Dictionary of names, technical terms, and other vocabulary relating to Greek history, mythology, geography, art and architecture. From the University of Oxford.
Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words from the past and present. Also contains quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Coverage and Currency: 1150 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
