Skip to Main Content
Indigenous Voices – Michif Collection
This introductory Michif language resource includes audio, video, and games.
A joint project of the Métis Nation British Columbia and the Metis Youth British Columbia, this website contains language lessons, cultural overview, and traditional Metis games.
Louis Riel Institute – Speaking Michif Lessons
Focusing on common classroom and home topics, this resource includes videos and activities.
Métis Nation of Ontario – Michif Video Recordings
Created by the Metis Nation of Ontario, these Michif language resources. includes audio and video recordings.
A corresponding workbook is also available: Michif Work Book - A Guide to the Metis Language
Our Elder Stories: Michif Language
Language lessons to help learn Michif with topics including greetings, dining conversations, and the weather.
The Virtual Museum of Métis History and Culture – Michef Tools (Michif dictionary and phrase primer)
This online dictionary features over 11,500 translations and audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury. A search tool allows users to look up the English word to find the Michif translations.
Michif Lessons - Gabriel Dumont Institute (iOS - Free)
These lessons feature more than 60 exercises to help learn 1000+ Michif words. Categories range from numbers, months, animals, weather, the body, love, and more. (Apple)
Michif to Go - Gabriel Dumont Institute (iOS - Free)
An English-to-Michif dictionary featuring 11,500+ translations and audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury. A search tool allows users to look up the English word to find the Michif-Cree translations. (Android)
Northern Michif to Go - Gabriel Dumont Institute (iOS - Free)
An English-to-Northern Michif dictionary featuring 18,000+ translations and audio pronunciations by Northern Michif-language expert Vince Ahenakew, including 800+ phrases. A search tool allows users to look up English words to find the Northern Michif translations with accompanying narration. (Apple)