Introductory nêhiyawêwin/Cree I
This introductory course is for students who have little or no previous background in the Plains Cree "Y" Dialect of Alberta and Saskatchewan. Emphasis will be placed upon the sound and writing system of Standard Roman Orthography, with introduction to the seven distinct vowel sounds and ten consonants.
Introductory nêhiyawêwin/Cree II
This introductory course is a follow-up to NEHI 101 with the incorporation of the 53 cahkipêhikana (syllabic) symbols that represent the sounds of nêhiyawêwin. 30 hours will be spent in a lab immersion for students to gain some conversational skills, practice with fluent speakers, interact with guest speakers and engage in land-based learning opportunities.
Link contains all of the syllabics from the Cree language. This resource is meant as a tool to help language learners. Each file is one syllabic shape that can be used in a variety of orientations for the other syllabics that share the shape. 3D Printing is available through the MacEwan Library.
This website was created to provide access to the Cree language-learning audio material developed by C. Douglas Ellis as well as to archival recordings of the Cree dialects spoken in Western James Bay.
This website is dedicated to the East Cree language spoken in Northern Quebec. It is intended as a resource for Cree language teachers, literacy instructors, translators, linguists, and those who have an interest in the East Cree language.
Curated by the Northern Lights Library System, this resource provides introductory lessons related to the Cree language. Content includes text and video components along with additional resource suggestions.
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM986 .M36 2016 and Online)
Based on a series of Facebook posts, the 100 short chapters or "days" present chains of related words. Some capture traditional life (e.g., the buffalo hunt, the seasons) while others capture modern life (e.g., internet slang, Johnny Cash songs).
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM988 .L42 1998)
This dictionary includes extensive Cree-English and English-Cree sections. It also includes parts of speech, a "New Terms" supplement to the English-Cree section, appendices on kinship terms, months and numbers, and terms commonly used in government, courts and other institutions.
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM987 .O38 2004 ITEM and Online)
This comprehensive educational resource offers a broad range of learning materials that are easily accessible to Cree language learners. The collection includes an updated and redesigned Cree language textbook, Cree language audio labs, and a Cree language workbook.
This is a conversation manual of the Moose and Swampy Cree languages. It includes words and sentences that represent 21 different topics of everyday life interactions in a Cree community.
The manual and its sound files represent the Cree languages spoken on the west coast of James Bay. From greetings to social gatherings, school to hunting and trapping, each phrase is first given in English, then in Moose Cree (L-dialect), and then in Swampy Cree (N-dialect).
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM987 .W58 1981 and Online)
This guide introduces readers to the Cree language, showing how its structure differs from that of English. It does not attempt to teach the Cree language itself, but those who read this book will find it much easier to actually learn Cree afterwards. Most examples in the books are given in both Plains and Swampy Cree.
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM986 .R383 2016 and Online)
Designed as an introduction for Cree language learners, this book serves as a self-study aid. Basic grammar units and everyday vocabulary items guide the learner through the building blocks of the language, and expansion drills and exercises reinforce lessons and prepare the student for further study.
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM988 .W658 2001 v. 1 & 2)
This two-volume Cree dictionary documents the Cree language. It provides both a guide to its spoken form for non-speakers and a guide to its written forms (both SRO and Syllabics) for speakers and non-speakers alike.
Available at MacEwan (Print - Call Number: PM986.E55 2000)
This is level I of a three-part Cree language learning course, based on the "N" and "L" dialects spoken west of James Bay. Each of the 18 units include basic conversation, a discussion of Cree grammar, drills, conversation practice and vocabulary list and a review section.
Available at MacEwan (Online)
This is level II of a three-part Cree language course, based on the "N" and "L" dialects spoken west of James Bay. Each of the 17 units include basic conversation, a discussion of Cree grammar, drills, conversation practice, a vocabulary list, and a review section.
The Athabasca Tribal Council (ATC) online language app translates English into Cree. The app focuses on Cree dialects of northeastern Alberta. Designed to be easy to use for both beginners and those with some previous knowledge of the language, it can be used for self-study or as an aid in conversation with Cree speaking elders.
It is suitable for use by beginners or those looking for a refresher. The app’s vocabulary includes important nouns, as well as words for medicines, numbers, directions, weather, the calendar, and parts of the body.
Created by File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council of Fort Qu’Appelle Saskatchewan, this app offers learning, practice, games and quizzes in many everyday categories such as greetings, phrases, vowels, expressions and more!
This app helps learners understand common words and phrases in Cree. It features Cree words and phrases related to various categories (e.g., food and beverages, animals, clothing, and survival phrases) as well as historical photos, cultural notes, and traditional songs with lyrics.
Developed and created by the Aboriginal Languages of Manitoba Inc. and the Manitoba Indigenous Cultural Education Centre Inc, this app uses the spoken word to teach the Cree language. It features 16 categories of learning with over spoken 150 words and phrases in the Swampy Cree language. Each category has words in English with corresponding Cree.
Winschgaoug is the wake-up call in the Cree homes of James Bay. Every weekday morning from 8 to 9 a.m. the show provides listeners with stories and conversation about some of their favourite subjects, including hunting, traditional practices, and the environment, as well as weather, news, sports, and more.
Wiih'teh is CBC's first podcast in East Cree. Join hosts Betsy Longchap and Mary Shem to explore the nuances, humour, and beauty of the language, share stories and learning, and hear from guests about how the Cree language is evolving. In each episode, we delve into the origins, meanings, and dialectical differences of specific vocabulary on a different theme, from paranormal activity to new technology to how to describe drizzle.