Subject Guides: Music: Audio, Video, & Scores

Finding sheet music for a specific song

In the library search box, type the song title (in quotation marks if it's a phrase or more than one word) and do the search. When you get your search results, look over in the left margin, and under Source Type click on Music Scores. This will filter your results to list just the scores. By default, the results will list only scores available at MacEwan. You can expand the list to include other NEOS libraries, such as U of A, by unchecking the "Available at MacEwan" box.

Classical Scores This link opens in a new window
Provides access to downloadable digital scores in classical music. The library has access to Volumes One through Six, Middle Ages to 21st Century, including full, study, piano and vocal scores.
Medieval to contemporary

Streaming Audio

Naxos Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of a collection of streaming early to current jazz music. Includes contemporary jazz, jazz and blues legends, nostalgia, world music, contemporary instrumental, and international pop and rock.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of a collection of streaming jazz music from a variety of composers, ensembles, albums, and genres. Content includes new releases of swing, avant-garde jazz, bebop, New Orleans jazz, vocal jazz, big band, west coast jazz, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1934 - 2018
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

American Song
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Popular Music
contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Classical Music
Streaming audio for over 64,000 classical albums from all periods.
Contemporary World Music
delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Smithsonian Global Sound
a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. Want better sound quality? We have the Smithsonian Collection in CD format at the CFAC library.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of a collection of streaming classical music, with some jazz, world, new age, and pop and rock included. Also contains standard and rare repertoire, selected from classical, jazz, and world music labels. Includes background information, such as the following: audio book transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera with listening examples, libretti and synopses of operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, a glossary, an overview of important musical terms, work analyses, work details with available recordings, and classical music podcasts.
Coverage and Currency: 1150 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Streaming Video

Qwest TV Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 150 curated concert video recordings ranging from jazz to soul, funk, hip-hop, rock, folk, electronic music, and global music. Historical artists represented include Miles Davis, Dizzy Gillespie, John Coltrane, and Nat King Cole, as well as more contemporary global music artists.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Contains videos of classical music performances, operas (with subtitles, and libretto and text when available), ballets, documentaries, live concerts, jazz performances, recitals, and musical tours of historic places.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Contains streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Includes footage from every continent. Access provided is to Volumes One and Two of Foundational Films.
Coverage and Currency: 1934 - 2014
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Consists of streamed video titles, including popular and Canadian documentaries, the Criterion Collection and other classic films, world cinema, the Great Courses, HBO documentary films, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Fake Book Index

Fake Book Index (open access)

A searchable index of over 75 fake books.

CDs

The collection contains over 4000 CDs and is growing rapidly. It is organized using the Library of Congress Classification System. To browse the physical collection, use the following guide:

Jazz - M 1366 (1700+ CDs)

Musicals - M 1500 (300+ CDs)

Music Videos on DVD

The library has close to 50 music videos on DVD, from jam sessions to live performances.

To suggest new titles to be added to the video collection, send an email with details.

Music

Profile V2

Finding sheet music for a specific song

Streaming Audio

Streaming Video

Fake Book Index

CDs

Music Videos on DVD