Covers musician and composer biographies, instruments, performance practice, music genres, ethnomusicology, music publishing, and music terminology.
Comprised of the following: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music Content: Covers musician and composer biographies, instruments, performance practice, music genres, ethnomusicology, music publishing, and music terminology Coverage and Currency: Ongoing updates Type: Full text Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password
Limited to 3 concurrent users Supplier: Oxford University Press
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Limited to 3 concurrent users. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
An account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin. Presents a searchable, browsable, and interactive full text version of the original six volume print edition, with images and musical examples.
Coverage and Currency: Late 20th century to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides information on composers, instruments, or musical topics written for students and performers. This collection contains specially-commissioned essays written by authorities in the field of music.
Coverage and Currency: I1992 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
An online resource on music research related to world music. It is browsable by places, cultural groups, subjects, instruments, or genres.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Credo provides access to subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference materials on a variety of topics and supports the development of information literacy skills through instructional articles and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1999 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
A collection of electronic reference books, primarily related to English Literature, but also including titles from Science and History. Includes the entire series of Novels for Students, Drama for Students, Short Stories for Students, and Poetry for Students, in addition to encyclopedias from other subject areas.
Coverage and Currency: 1997 to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Contains dictionary entries from a short, general reference format to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from the Oxford Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of other publishers’ scholarly works.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Provides students with a series of essays, videos, and images that present multiple sides of a current issue. It also offers guides to debating, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Coverage and Currency: 20th century to present Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password. Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Why use Background Sources?
Background sources help you understand your topic. They will identify
key people, places, events, time periods, etc. giving you more key words
for searching.
