Subject Guides: Biology: BIOL 498

Find Journal Articles

Try these interdisciplanary science databases, or search some of the biology databases listed in the Articles tab.

Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting of journals in all science and social science disciplines.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical, and medical information. Includes citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers, plus scientific web pages and patent records.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Google Scholar

Books on Writing and Communicating your Research in Biology

A Short Guide to Writing about Biology by Jan Pechenik
Call Number: QH304 .P43 2016
ISBN: 9780321984258
Publication Date: 2015-01-07
Writing in the Biological Sciences by Angelika Hofmann
Call Number: QH304 .H64 2013
ISBN: 9780197665411
Publication Date: 2024-02-15
Reporting research: a biologist's guide to articles, talks, and posters by R. S. Clymo
Call Number: QH304 .C685 2014
ISBN: 9781107053892
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Doing Your Literature Review by Jill Jesson; Lydia Matheson; Fiona M. Lacey
Call Number: H62 .J47 2011
ISBN: 9781848601536
Publication Date: 2011-03-14
The CSE Manual, Ninth Edition by Council of Science Editors
Call Number: QH304 .S386 1994
ISBN: 9780226683942
Publication Date: 2024-05-03
Evaluating Research Articles from Start to Finish by Ellen Robinson Girden; Robert Ira Kabacoff
Call Number: Q180.55 .E9 G57 2011
ISBN: 9781412974462
Publication Date: 2010-09-20
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by Karin Knisely
ISBN: 1319440207
Publication Date: 2021-04-28
Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Victoria E. McMillan
ISBN: 9780312649715
Publication Date: 2011-12-07
Reading Primary Literature by Scott Freeman; Kim Quillin; Lizabeth Allison; Michael Black; Greg Podgorski; Emily Taylor; Jeff Carmichael
ISBN: 9780805345995
Publication Date: 2006-12-06
Critical reading : making sense of research papers in life sciences and medicine by Ben Yudkin
ISBN: 9780415344135
Publication Date: 2006-03-30
Planning, proposing, and presenting science effectively : a guide for graduate students and researchers in the behavioral sciences and biology by Hailman, Jack Parker and Strier, Karen B.
ISBN: 9786610709717
Publication Date: 2006

Research Methods Videos

JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
This peer-reviewed video journal publishes scientific research in a visual format, providing information on all major scientific disciplines, as well as research techniques and laboratory fundamentals.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a peer-reviewed video journal, which publishes scientific research in a visual format. Covers topics including microbiology, molecular biology, biochemistry, genetics, developmental biology, and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Zotero (Reference Manager)

Reference managers are applications that help you manage references and generate citations and bibliographies. If you have never used one before, Zotero is a good choice. It has lots of features and good help information available.

Download Zotero

Zotero User Guide

More Help from Zotero:

Biology

Profile V2

Find Journal Articles

Books on Writing and Communicating your Research in Biology

Research Methods Videos

Zotero (Reference Manager)