Subject Guides: Psychology: Tests, Measures & Research Methods

Tests & Measures

Many tests are proprietary and as a result access to them is restricted. Often psychology tests can only be administered by someone who is authorised and trained. If you are looking for a particular test and finding it difficult to locate, it may be that you have to pay for access to the test questions and answer key. The Mental Measurements Yearbook can help you find answers and reviews to psychological tests..

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Test Critiques
Call number: BF176 .T419 1992 (11 print volumes)
ETS Test Collection
Educational Testing Service (ETS) records more than 25,000 unpublished tests and research instruments; the collection describes the instruments and availability.
- Finding Information About Psychological Tests
  Provides information on published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests and information on the proper use of tests.

To search the Mental Measurements Yearbook, follow the instructions in the image below.

Research Methods

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
New to psychology research or looking for different research methods? SAGE Research Methods is the best place to begin. Resources on quantitative or qualitative methods, case studies of real world research, videos and more.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JOVE Essentials of Developmental Psychology This link opens in a new window
Explores the experimental domains of attention and perception, reasoning, social learning, and memory processes, highlighting the dynamic changes that emerge throughout infancy and childhood. Based upon classic studies in the field, this series illuminates the unique challenges in devising tasks targeted towards normative developmental processes. Uses videos to compliment experimental instruction and learning in psychology.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
JoVE Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a peer-reviewed video journal, publishing scientific research in a visual format. JoVE Neuroscience covers research on the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Finding Test Reviews in PsycINFO

Search by test name or its acronym, "thematic apperception test" or TAT for example. If needed, add other search terms such as test reliability, interrater reliability, statistical significance, statistical reliability, test validity, statistical validity or test standardization to the search.

To search for Tests & Measures, follow the instructions as shown in the image below.

Psychology

Profile V2

Tests & Measures

Research Methods

Finding Test Reviews in PsycINFO