Subject Guides: Psychology: PSYC 305

Welcome!

This guide is here to support your work on your Communication Assignment - Groups can also book a consult with Ali if they have any questions about finding resources, citing, or other library-related supports!

Finding Resources

Library Catalogue

The MacEwan Library Catalogue connects you with books, ebooks, news articles, journal articles, and more - it can be a great starting point for your research and to get a general sense of your topic.

For a refresher on using the library catalogue, review this short video: How to Use the Library Catalogue.

Statistics & Government Information

Looking for reliable information about your target demographics or healthcare? Statistics and Government Information can provide some great foundational information for your campaign! Below are links to resources and tips for accessing statistics, reports, and other information.

Data & Statistics Guide
Information on how to find statistics and data sets at the municipal, provincial, national, or international level.
Tips on Finding Data & Statistics
Tips for Finding Government Information

Academic Articles

You will need to find supporting evidence for reasons such as discussing the benefits of your innovation or describing the current challenges facing your target audience. Searching in databases that are relevant to your topic will save time and yield credible, relevant results. Below are some tips for article searching and suggested databases, sorted by topic.

Tips for Article Searching

Tips for Finding Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Articles
Research Basics
A Step-by-step guide to the research process, with help guides for each step.

Healthcare & Mental Health - Suggested Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural science. Also covers the psychological aspects of the following related disciplines: medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, sport, business, and law.
Coverage and Currency: 17th century to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nursing and allied health journals. Includes point-of-care information with evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions.
Coverage and Currency: 1937 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
MEDLINE (EBSCO version) This link opens in a new window
Contains references and citations to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Specific coverage includes medicine, dental science, and nursing, as well as allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Coverage and Currency: 1809 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Technology - Suggested Databases

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of academic journals specializing in the areas of engineering, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social and professional conduct.
Coverage and Currency: 1965 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Science (AAAS Journals) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the following journals published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science: Science, Science Advances, Science Immunology, and Science Robotics. Science is a weekly publication covering all aspects of science, technology, and medicine, including news and original research articles. Science Advances is an open access journal covering all of the sciences. Science Immunology contains research articles that report critical advances in all areas of immunological research, including new tools and techniques. Science Robotics contains original, peer-reviewed, science- or engineering-based research articles that advance the field of robotics.
Coverage and Currency: 1880 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Writing & Citing

Looking for help with citing your resources and formatting your work? The Writing Centre offers one-on-one appointments, drop-in help, and online resources to help! Below are links to the Writing Centre Resources and other useful resources

The Writing Centre
Book an appointment with a writing tutor, ask questions using their drop-in services, or access online guides.
APA Documentation Style 7th Edition [Online Guide]
APA Style Blog
Created by the APA, this blog is filled with posts that describe how to cite less common resources.

Questions?

Reach out to Ali Foster (ali.foster@macewan.ca) to chat over email or book an appointment.
Get help from our MacEwan Library Help Chat.
Book an appointment with a Writing Centre tutor, or drop-in to the Writing Centre for help.
Ask a writing or citing question using the Writing Centre Help chat.
Check in with your instructors

Psychology

Profile V2