Subject Guides: Communication Studies: BCSC 200

Welcome!

This guide has been created to help students with their course assignments in BCSC 200. Be sure to check out the rest of the Communication Studies guide for help finding journal articles, websites, and more.

Sources for Learning About Theories

Books

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory

50 Ways to Understand Communication: A Guided Tour of Key Ideas and Theorists in Communication, Media and Culture

A First Look at Communication Theory

Theories of Human Communication

Websites

Communication Theory: All About Theories of Communication

Communicationstudies.com - Communication Theories

Journals

Canadian Journal of Communication

Communication Theory

Sources for Content / Text Analysis

Ads, Film and Documentaries

Channel Zero - the short film channel

CBC Curio This link opens in a new window
Accessible collection that contains documentaries from television, radio, news reports, and archival material from CBC and Radio-Canada, including popular programs like The Currrent and The National.

Note that the MacEwan access code is MVZJ-ZBFY.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

History Television
IMdb
Started in 1990 as a hobby project, the Internet Movie database contains more than 2 million movies, TV and entertainment programs and more than 4 million cast a crew members. It is a popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.

National Film Board of Canada This link opens in a new window
Contains films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. It includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction, and interactive works.
Coverage and Currency: 1917 to present
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Contains videos of classical music performances, operas (with subtitles, and libretto and text when available), ballets, documentaries, live concerts, jazz performances, recitals, and musical tours of historic places.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Prelinger Archives
A collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, amateur and sponsored) films relating to US cultural and social history.

Newspapers

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers news and public interest events as reported in major Canadian newspapers, including the Edmonton Journal and the Calgary Herald. It also includes the electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers and full access to articles, columns, editorials, and features that are updated daily.
Coverage and Currency: 1970s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text news, business, and legal publications. News coverage includes backfiles and current stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Coverage and Currency: 2017 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.