Subject Guides: Political Science: POLS 244

Browse policy areas

The Canadian Encyclopedia - Public Policy - good for a quick overview and background on established issues

HillNotes - blog from the Library of Parliament that provides analysis for parliamentarians and summaries on current and emerging issues.

Policy Horizons Canada - Government foresight briefs on emerging issues (AI, social mobility, economic futures). Useful for forward-looking topics and framing

Policy Options - the digital magazine for the Institute for Research on Public Policy

Learn more: Policy analysis and research

Library of Parliament search non-partisan, curated briefings that provide analysis and context for parliamentarians created by the Library. Not the official record of a department. Includes HillNotes (quick reads), HillStudies (in-depth backgrounders), and Legislative Summaries (plain-language summaries of bills outlining key points)

Government of Canada search - publications produced and published by federal departments and agencies. It is the official output from the government.

* Add the word policy or consultation to your search; for example: opioids policy. Use can also use the power of Google to search for information within the Government of Canada site:

Find Policy Canada- searches 14 Canadian Think Tanks simultaneously

Search

The phrase "government policy" or "law and legislation" works well for finding policy research and analysis. Here is an example of a search:

Databases

Conference Board of Canada
Provides access to research products from The Conference Board of Canada and The Conference Board, Inc. (based in New York). Over 8,000 documents are currently available, and more than 350 are added annually. Topics covered include economic trends, organizational performance, and public policy.

You may have to click the link twice if you haven't opened this database before, to get to the content.
Canada Commons
Contains ebooks from both scholarly and independent Canadian publishers, think tanks, and public policy groups.

Coverage and Currency: 1959 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Newsstream
Covers news and public interest events as reported in major Canadian newspapers, including the Edmonton Journal and the Calgary Herald. It also includes the electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers and full access to articles, columns, editorials, and features that are updated daily.

Coverage and Currency: 1970s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.

Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
PAIS International
Contains references to international journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and more. Content originates from PAIS International and the PAIS Archive. Subject coverage includes economic conditions, education, energy resources and policy, government, health conditions, human rights, international relations, labour conditions and policy, politics, social conditions, the civil rights movement, and more.

Coverage and Currency: 1972 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Feedback

I appreciate your anonymous feedback about the session.

Political Science

Profile V2

Browse policy areas

Learn more: Policy analysis and research

Search

Databases

Feedback