Subject Guides: Philosophy: PHIL 342 British Empiricism

PHIL 342 British Empiricism

The intent of this page is to help students with their course specific research.

Books

Edwin McCann, "Locke on Substance" in The Cambridge Companion to Locke's "Essay Concerning Human Understanding" edited by Lex Newman. New York: Cambridge Univesity Press, 2007: 157-191.

Lisa Downing, "Locke's Ontology" in The Cambridge Companion to Locke's "Essay Concerning Human Understanding" edited by Lex Newman. New York: Cambridge Univesity Press, 2007: 352-380.

Talia Mae Bettcher, "Berkeley on Self-Consciousness" in New Interpretations of Berkeley's Thought edited by Stephen H. Daniel. New York: Humanity books, 2008: 179-202.

Journals

David Fate Norton, "The Myth of 'British Empiricism'" in History of European Ideas vol.1 no. 4(1981): 331-344.

Jessicas Spector, "The Grounds of Moral Agency: Locke's Account of Personal Identity" in Journal of Moral Philosophy vol.5 (2008): 256-281.

Margaret Atherton, "Corpuscles, Mechanism, and Essentialism in Berkeley and Locke" in Journal of the History of Philosophy vol. 29 no. 1 (January, 1991): 47-97.

Janet Broughton, "What Does the Scientist of Man Observe?" in Hume Studies vol. 18 no.2 (November, 1992): 155-168.

Kenneth P. Winkler, "The New Hume" in The Philosophical Review vol. 100 no. 4 (October, 1991): 541-579.

Jane L. McIntyre, "Personal Identity and the Passions," in Journal of the History of Philosophy vol.27 no.4 (October 1989): 545-557.

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Subjects includes aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphilosophy, metaphysics, political and social philosophy, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1893 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains journals and books on topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.
Coverage and Currency: 1911 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text journals and books on all aspects of the humanities.
Coverage and Currency
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Provides full text articles, reviews (books, performance, art, music, etc.), fiction and poetry, and enlargeable illustrations and photographs.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Created by the American Theological Library Association, ALTA contains citations to articles, essays, and book reviews covering all fields of religion.
Coverage and Currency: Indexing 1949 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Consists of scholarship and literature on leftist political movements, including the labour movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law and globalization.
Coverage and Currency: 1901 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes, abstracts, articles, and videos in a variety of subjects, but especially the following: biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including art, archaeology, history, music, mythology, philosophy, religion, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
Coverage and Currency: 1928 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Philosophy

Profile V2

PHIL 342 British Empiricism

Books

Journals

Databases