Subject Guides: Accounting &amp; Finance: Articles

Databases

There are several databases that are relevant to Accounting & Finance. To expand your searching beyond those listed below you may also want to check out other subject pages in Business & Management, Economics or Psychology.

CPA Canada handbook. CPA Canada standards and guidance collection.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text scholarly business, management, and economics journals, along with magazines, company profiles, and videos.
Coverage and Currency: 1886 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers different aspects of business information, scholarly research, business traditions and trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. It includes full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals (such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review), country-and industry-focused reports, and news sources such as the Wall Street Journal.
Content: Contains the following databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive, and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition.
Coverage and Currency: 1971 - present

Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Emerald E-Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from management journals, case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and how-to guides.
Coverage and Currency: 1989 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Supplier: Emerald Insight.
Financial Times Historical Archives: 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
Contains the historical daily issues of the London edition of The Financial Times newspaper. Includes coverage of international business and finance issues, including industry, energy, and politics. Later issues include topics such as management, personal finance, and the arts.
Coverage and Currency 1888 - 2010
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS) This link opens in a new window
Provides a complete set of current International Financial Reporting Standards incorporating International Accounting Standards and Interpretations.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers, and more. Also provides copies of annual reports, links for EDGAR filings, corporate profiles, and recent news for public companies from the United States.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Selected Journals

A sampling of journals of interest to Accounting students.

Accounting Horizons
Accounting, Organizations & Society
Accounting Perspectives : a Journal of the Canadian Academic Accounting Association
The Accounting Review
The Bottom Line
CA Magazine
CGA Magazine
CMA Management
Contemporary Accounting Research : the Journal of the Canadian Academic Accounting Association
The Economist
Financial Times Canada
Financial Times.com
Canada Newswire
Select News > Business > General Business > Earnings. Most recent 6 months, Canadian companies only.
Financial Post

Google Scholar

Search for academic literature on many subjects. Articles available through MacEwan Library will display a Find It!@MacEwan link if you are using a computer on campus. Off campus, add MacEwan University to the Library Links section of Google Scholar settings.

Find by Citation

Find by citation is currently unavailable

Accounting & Finance

Profile V2

Databases

Selected Journals

Google Scholar

Find by Citation