Subject Guides: Educational Assistant: Articles

Library Search

Databases

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains education research and practice, including child development, learning and cognition, curriculum and instruction, and the philosophy and history of education, at all age levels. Consists of citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals. Includes full text digests along with references for additional information.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles, including scholarly research, about all areas of education, such as curriculum, policy, administration, funding, and related social issues.
Coverage and Currency: 1880 - 2022
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
LearnAlberta.ca This link opens in a new window
Offers Kindergarten to Grade 12 teachers, students, and their parents access to a variety of resources and databases covering all topics related to elementary and secondary curriculum.
Access: Username/password access is restricted to Grant MacEwan University students in Education-focused programs, or with the guidance of Reference Services staff.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Covers news and public interest events as reported in major Canadian newspapers, including the Edmonton Journal and the Calgary Herald. It also includes the electronic backfile for most Canadian newspapers and full access to articles, columns, editorials, and features that are updated daily.
Coverage and Currency: 1970s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Article Tips

What to see if the journal you're using is peer-reviewed? Watch the video below.

Don't forget: sometimes a peer-reviewed journal can have articles that aren't peer-reviewed (such as book reviews and editorials). Look for things like a reference list and that the author has authority in the field (i.e. a degree, working at an academic institution or think tank, years of experience, considered an expert by their community - such as an Elder)

Find by Citation

Find by citation is currently unavailable

Educational Assistant

Profile V2

Library Search

Databases

Article Tips

Find by Citation