Subject Guides: Sociology: Articles

Articles

This page features article databases specific to Sociology, including:

For more, visit Find a Database.

Database Search Tips:

"Quotes" for phrases/titles:
- "social media" "Presentation of Self in Everyday Life"
AND for different concepts:
- racism AND Indigenous AND Canada
OR for similar concepts/synonyms:
- teenager OR adolescent OR youth
Asterisk (*) for truncation:
- feminis* = feminist feminism

Example: Canad* AND "racial bias" AND (universit* OR college)

Need a Specific Article?

Try searching for it by title in the main library search or use the Find by Citation tool.

Sociology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related fields, including anthropology, criminology, economic development, social work, politics, and religion.
Coverage and Currency: 1895 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Coverage and Currency: 1952 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes, abstracts, articles, and videos in a variety of subjects, but especially the following: biology, chemistry, education, engineering, humanities, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and sociology.
Coverage and Currency: 1990 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Covers aspects of the culture, history, and life of the Indigenous peoples living in what is commonly known as North America. Includes a wide range of topics such as archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Consists of citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents.
Coverage and Currency: 1500s to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Canadian Business and Current Affairs This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary Canadian resource that incorporates content from three databases: CBCA Business, CBCA Education, and CBCA Reference and Current Events. It includes scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade journals, newspapers, and broadcast transcripts, some of which are in French.
Coverage and Currency: 1982 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of articles, essays, and reviews in the research areas of communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and more.
Coverage and Currency: 1900 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides access to major journals in criminology and related disciplines. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, correction, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
Coverage and Currency: 1910 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Left Index This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and literature of the political Left spanning all disciplines.
Coverage and Currency: 1901 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Life database including important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and monographs. Also contains a specialized LGBT thesaurus.
Coverage and Currency: 1917 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts for journals, books, periodicals, and newspapers in the area of racial and ethnic studies. Topics covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, community relations, ethnic relations, radicalism, economics, cultural identity, and pressure groups.
Coverage and Currency: 1903 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects.
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Citation Indexes

Citation indexes allow you to explore who has cited whose work overtime. This strategy can help you determine what research has and has not already been done on a given topic. Simply search for an article by title (or enter keywords on your topic) in each of the options below and look for the "Cited by" or "Citations" option for each search result.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly literature in a variety of disciplines and publishing formats, including academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, abstracts, technical reports, and patents. May contain some full text.
Conditions of Use: This is an Open Access resource available to all users. This database is not specifically licensed by MacEwan University Libraries.

Access Google Scholar content off campus: Go to: Google Scholar > Menu (top left corner) > Settings > Library Links and search for MacEwan then save.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides scientific, technical, and medical information. Includes citations and abstracts to peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers, plus scientific web pages and patent records.
Coverage and Currency: 1966 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology, sociology, anthropology, history, political science, philosophy, social work, public health, industrial relations, substance abuse, information and library science, linguistics, urban studies, women's studies, and other social sciences. Provides citation indexing of journals from a variety of social science disciplines.
Coverage and Currency: 1900 to present
Access: Access limited to Grant MacEwan University IP addresses. Remote login with a MacEwan network user ID and password.
Conditions of Use: Use of this database is restricted to members of the MacEwan University community and to users physically present in the Library. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this database for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.

Sociology

Profile V2

Articles

Need a Specific Article?

Sociology Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Citation Indexes